We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful "OLD" Estate tour in Richmond, Va”
Review of Agecroft Hall

Agecroft Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Agecroft Hall is an authentic 16th century English manor house. It was was taken apart,shipped across the Atlantic, and reassembled in Virginia in the 1920s. Today Agecoft Hall is open for tours, special events, educational programs, and is home of The Richmond Shakespeare Festival.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
538 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Beautiful "OLD" Estate tour in Richmond, Va”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were looking for what to do on a rainy day in this city and found online several museums and there was Agecroft; one amazing English tudor manor house that was totally taken down in England and moved to Richmond in 1925; It's enormous and beautiful and so full of history
from over 1,000 years ago when it was built in Lancashire.........the tour was a delightful Christmas tour which takes a different direction BUT I plan to return in Spring to see and walk the gorgeous outdoor gardens and walks; all over looks our JAMES River.......a MUST see in Richmond

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    67
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic charm”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This 18th century residence is something that needs to be seen. I have been here twice and both times I have learned something new. The movie and tour guides are very informative. The gardens are beautiful. The interior amazing for the time it was constructed and the history of how it landed in Richmond is jaw dropping. It makes for a wonderful day to get away and be carried back to days gone by. Plus the good luck cat is a must see. Go and take your kids. They'll have fun while learning something. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Agecroft, a place of age and beauty”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Agecroft is a delightful place to visit for a few hours. Overall the tour is good. Please note this is not a self-guided museum tour. The Agecroft staff members are extremely particular about touching. Therefore, if you need to learn through picking up and exploring this isn't the place for you. The guides are full of facts about the relics within the home; however, loving English Tudor design as I do, I was more curious about the estate and the owners themselves. Even though the little facts I have learned are not of the Tudor design elements, it does give a little insight you may not learn about the estate. So, just in case I will give a few details: cost $200,000 to reconstruct the estate, the ceiling medallions were purchased from a catalog and installed, the estate features hidden radiant heat but the majority of the fire places were used at the same time, the estate has been used for a movie which did not air (notice the wall color variations in the bedrooms located on the 2nd floor), and the plaster walls throughout the home have the finger tips of the construction workers (a semi version of knockdown ceiling for walls in the 1920's.) Cost is reasonable at $8 for adults but multi-discount for seniors and AAA. Enjoy!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberdny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place in Richmond”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Agecroft Hall was an English Tudor Manor that was dismantled, shipped and reconstructed in the US. It's a little slice of England, right here in Virginia!!! The tour guides are super knowledgeable. The state of the house is amazing and lord would I love to get my hands on some of the artifacts in there!!! It's a beautiful place. It's 100000 times more interesting if you take the tour. The $7 fee is well worth it! A must see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurelRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Tudor Gem Tucked Away From The Crowd”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Agecroft Hall was an English Tudor manor that was purchased by some extremely wealthy folks in the early 20th century, dismantled, and reassembled in Richmond, Virginia. The architecture is amazing. The grounds contain formal gardens as well as an expanse of lawn and trees with glimpses of the James River. The interior is dark wood and offers an education on English life in the era of Elizabeth I as well as commentary on how the Virginia owners molded part of the house to suit their "modern" needs. Visiting around Christmas is a real treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agecroft Hall also viewed

 

Been to Agecroft Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing