We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”
Review of Monument Avenue

Monument Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Discover Richmond's Monument Ave by Segway
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Electric Bike Tour through Prominent Richmond Neighborhoods
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Richmond's City Center Bike Tour
Ranked #6 of 171 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Perhaps it's because I'm a from the North, but I was dumbfounded by Monument Avenue. I looped it twice; it's so unbelievable. The largest monument is to Jefferson Davis. It is huge! I know this is Richmond, but still . . . The others aren't too shabby either. All I can say is you've got to see it to believe it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    236
    44
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Paris of Richmond but with a Twist”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm lucky to call Monument Avenue home. This grand boulevard echos the epic scale and elegance of Haussmann's Paris but the iconography honors Confederate heros, with the exception of the monument honoring tennis star Arthus Ashe. The avenue is a vibrant mix of art, politics, gardens, churches, trees, students, society mavens, bankers, architects, tailors; in short it is a cross section of the city's culture.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryInman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I live here and I love it!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've lived on monument for close to a year and I still find it charming to walk up and down in any season! The historical homes are just beautiful and the monuments are a quick look into the history of the south!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaJulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“impressive wide boulevard lined with equally impressive houses”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was a sunny mid-winter afternoon, and our first visit to Richmond. We drove up and down Monument avenue admiring the many impressive 19th and early 20th century houses in what seemed to have been a very upscale neighborhood away from the city center. Many of those homes are very well preserved and maintained, especially the three-story brick ones designed in classical eighteenth century colonial style.
The monuments to Lee, Jackson and others were also impressive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant drive”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The statutes are nice but it is more interesting for the beautiful homes you see along the way. A recommended diversion. I assume that it would be beautiful when the trees are in bloom

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lewas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monument Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Monument Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing