We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outing for the family”

Children's Museum of Richmond
Ranked #32 of 172 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A center for active learning, creative play and global exploration.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outing for the family”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Loved the exhibits and educational experience. Very lovely facility with clean and open areas. Super explanations for parents. Disappointed in the outside area. Awesome instruments but no mallets. Not nearly as well kept as interior exhibits

Helpful?
Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    27
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fine place....”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I took my 5 year old there for a "special day." She had a nice time, but was starting to age out of it. She tired quickly of the place once the dayscares/field trip kids got there and basically took over. It was hard to even get a spot at any of the attractions. She had a great time making crafts (especially since no one was really in there and we could hear ourselves talk.) The storytime is nice, but the storyteller lacked much personality for reading to small kids. The other children in the room chatted through the story and often made it hard to pay attention. Overall, the exhibits are pretty neat, but the crowds and unruly kids can ruin a nice outing quickly. They also added a carousel that is not FREE. I paid $16 for both of us to get in, they out a huge merry-go-round in the middle, and they want MORE money? I think we'll start going to the science museum from now on.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank c2nlilmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My kids love going to the Children's Museum. We enjoy both locations, but lately seem to go to the Short Pump one most because my kids love to ride the train. Wonderful, friendly staff. Always clean. Highly recommend for families with kids up to age eight.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4realfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“eh.. o.k....”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you're looking for a way for your kids to burn off some energy on a rainy day and don't want to do the "bouncy house" thing, this is the place. The facility is rather large and can get quite busy at times which makes keeping track of your kids problematic. Tey have various rooms for the kids to play in ranging from replacing parts on a toy car to a sand box to grocery store shopping. It's geared more towards the pre-school crowd IMHO and therefore, not the best choice for grade schoolers. Oh yeah, and I'd stay away from the water exhibit.. it always smells like mildew....

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's OK.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I took my 2yr old son to the Children's Museum Short Pump location. It was OK. I think the downtown location would have been much better. The only thing he really enjoyed was the paint and play room that they have set up. Other than that he found the play equipment to be boring =/

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank chi-moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Children's Museum of Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing