We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Richmond's City Center Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VMFA Arts is a top comprehensive US art museum with more than 5,000 years of art from around the world. VMFA is open 365 days a year and general admission is always free. The Wall Street Journal recently stated that VMFA is now a "two day museum."
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts has a lot to offer. Beautiful space, nice collection. With it being free, you can duck in for even an hour or two if you have other places to be. You'll be relaxed and inspired by the time you spend there, so include it if you can.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,718
    272
    26
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Rare Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

When my husband died eight years ago and I decided to leave the suburbs and return to my comfort zone, the city, I knew I'd be moving into "The Museum District." The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts has an ever changing kaleidoscope of beautiful and often unique exhibits. Right now it's "Hollywood Costumes" - all shown in the context of the movie they were in and information on how the costume played a huge part in moving forward the plot of the movie. The established galleries are always worth a visit - Tiffany to ancient Egypt are beautifully displayed and the emphasis is always on education. VMFA also has a great "After Dark" program with Jazz Cafe' on Thursday nights, Wine tastings on Second Fridays and an ever changing variety of lectures, class and programs going on. I now live across the street and enjoy being part of this very vibrant part of Richmond.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going Hollywood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

It was very exciting see the costume that I had seen in the movies. I was really impressed with the Batman costume and never saw the movie. Wizard of Oz, Batman , Spiderman, Titanic, just beautiful. They only let so many in at a time so it wasn't to crowded. Movie related item to purchase were high.
Check out the black and white still pictures also. Donna

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wing626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An interesting morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were recently drawn here by the Hollywood Costume exhibit which was excellent. It intrigued both young adults into blockbuster movies, and older folk interested in Hollywood classics, and was appropriate for children too. The filmed interviews with actors, directors, and costume designers were well worth watching. We felt it was a worthwhile couple of hours, though expensive, especially considering parking was charged for as well.

We didn't spend much time in the permanent exhibits, but they are free. The grounds looked interesting too, but it was too cold to explore.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have seen several exhibits here and just saw the Hollywood Costume exhibit and paired with the photos of movie stars upstairs it was a great afternoon. The museum is free but the special exhibits usually have a cost. There is a parking garage onsite for $5.00. The restaurant and cafe there are very good as well. It is a well-run museum and small enough that it is not overwhelming. They have lecture series and special movie events there as well. Richmond is lucky to have such a place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison8641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing