We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really Interesting, beautiful work!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
$40.00*
and up
Richmond's City Center Tour
Ranked #1 of 162 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VMFA Arts is a top comprehensive US art museum with more than 5,000 years of art from around the world. VMFA is open 365 days a year and general admission is always free. The Wall Street Journal recently stated that VMFA is now a "two day museum."
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really Interesting, beautiful work!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband is not an art nerd like I am, but hr had a really good time and even found a few paintings he really loved. The abstract/21st century work was really cool, as well as the medieval works. I highly recommend it. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared to spend at least half a day here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,615
    251
    24
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful museum to visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My son and I went to VMFA just for something to do! The artwork is fabulous, and there are plenty of rooms to wander around. I suggest one takes at least half a day to visit the museum for there is so much to see. We didn't get to see everything, but I will definitely go back again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Being from New York my expectations for VMFA were low, but after the renovation I was privvy to a tour and what a beautiful museum this is. You can take a guided tour or go on your own, but you will not be disappointed. The eateries are top notch, and the special exhibits are not to be missed. Put on your walking shoes, and enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tygertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The greatest gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

You will not be disappointed Richmond is so very lucky to have such a fantastic gallery . Much loved by the locals and supported . Like a New York gallery in the south . A gem to visit and return to again and again . Love the gift store so many great gifts enjoy !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Free!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are vacationing in Williamsburg with teenagers and decided to make the (short) trek up to Richmond to see the VMFA. This is a phenomenal, beautiful museum with lots to offer including a delicious cafe overlooking the reflective pond. There are many interesting exhibits and "guards" in every room. On of these "guards" named Bob also happened to be extremely knowledgeable about all of the art and who it came from. I kept searching for Bob and he provided me with a wealth of information. Even 4 cranky teens loved the museum and found plenty to interest them. I highly recommend this museum. You will NOT be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimbop324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing