We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
$40.00*
and up
Richmond's City Center Tour
Ranked #1 of 162 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VMFA Arts is a top comprehensive US art museum with more than 5,000 years of art from around the world. VMFA is open 365 days a year and general admission is always free. The Wall Street Journal recently stated that VMFA is now a "two day museum."
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Being from New York my expectations for VMFA were low, but after the renovation I was privvy to a tour and what a beautiful museum this is. You can take a guided tour or go on your own, but you will not be disappointed. The eateries are top notch, and the special exhibits are not to be missed. Put on your walking shoes, and enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tygertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,615
    250
    24
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The greatest gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

You will not be disappointed Richmond is so very lucky to have such a fantastic gallery . Much loved by the locals and supported . Like a New York gallery in the south . A gem to visit and return to again and again . Love the gift store so many great gifts enjoy !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Free!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are vacationing in Williamsburg with teenagers and decided to make the (short) trek up to Richmond to see the VMFA. This is a phenomenal, beautiful museum with lots to offer including a delicious cafe overlooking the reflective pond. There are many interesting exhibits and "guards" in every room. On of these "guards" named Bob also happened to be extremely knowledgeable about all of the art and who it came from. I kept searching for Bob and he provided me with a wealth of information. Even 4 cranky teens loved the museum and found plenty to interest them. I highly recommend this museum. You will NOT be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimbop324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had been to the Museum several times, but the Chihuly exhibit truly was the best I've seen in years. Worth every penny. I also liked the fact the gift shop features local artists along with the usual things you find in an art museum gift shop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank treble3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Faberge to French impressionists and American decorative arts to art from the Classic Age, this museum has it all. And free admission? It seems to good to be true. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Richmond, and now that we've been there, we would even travel to go back. Plan to spend at least half a day, but you could spend even more time. The sculpture garden is also lovely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADDKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing