We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Go while the Chihully exhibit is in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
$40*
and up
Richmond's City Center Tour
Ranked #1 of 30 Shopping in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VMFA Arts is a top comprehensive US art museum with more than 5,000 years of art from around the world. VMFA is open 365 days a year and general admission is always free. The Wall Street Journal recently stated that VMFA is now a "two day museum."
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Go while the Chihully exhibit is in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went for the Chihully exhibit, which was AMAZING! Each installation was different and piercing. Each of the four people in our group was impacted.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,471
    237
    22
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cultural Highlight of our trip to Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Richmond is steeped in history, and there are lots of wonderful places to go if you want to delve into the Civil War, but for my money the cultural jewel in Richmond's crown is the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. We attracted to the VMFA by an announcement on the Chihuly Exhibit (the exhibit, runs thru Feb 10, 2013), but once we got there we found so much more to explore. Their permanent collections of American Art, Art Deco and Art Nouveau decorative arts and Arts and Crafts furniture had us charmed. We'll be back the next time we are in town to visit the other galleries.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ParktonRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A world class museum right here in Richmond. Closed for well over a year for renovation and new additions. You will love this place. A must see for Richmond sightseeing. Very good restaurant in house as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My first visit yesterday was prompted by VMFA's current display of beautiful glass works of Chiluly. Upon finishing that, I visited most of the more permanent exhibits, including works in many media, diverse parts of the world, and ranging from ancient Egyptian times to the present. A very nice way to spend the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank richarrrrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was not prepared for how large the building was on my walk to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. There is a great amount of things to see inside. My favorite part of the day was sitting on the patio and having a drink. The prices (to my surprise) were reasonable and the workers were pleasant while having a sense of humor. It was a relaxing day and I would love to return to see the things that I did not have time to look at. I would like to go during the times that the education center is open.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MisterHobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing