We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Book In Advance
$40*
and up
Richmond's City Center Tour
Ranked #1 of 159 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My first visit yesterday was prompted by VMFA's current display of beautiful glass works of Chiluly. Upon finishing that, I visited most of the more permanent exhibits, including works in many media, diverse parts of the world, and ranging from ancient Egyptian times to the present. A very nice way to spend the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank richarrrrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,422
    233
    19
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was not prepared for how large the building was on my walk to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. There is a great amount of things to see inside. My favorite part of the day was sitting on the patio and having a drink. The prices (to my surprise) were reasonable and the workers were pleasant while having a sense of humor. It was a relaxing day and I would love to return to see the things that I did not have time to look at. I would like to go during the times that the education center is open.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MisterHobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good small art museum. Decorative Arts are the main attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a lovely little art museum which would like to be a big art museum. While the Decorative Arts collection is lovely, the rest of the collections tend to be just a smattering of this and that. It's a bit of a tasting menu of art which is actually just fine for a lovely afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Must-see Chihuly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The new VMFA is a treasure of Richmond. The grounds are beautiful any time of year, and the building has many architectural highlights. But of course the reason to visit a museum is the exhibits within. I've been to several in the last couple years, and the latest is one of the best: several rooms of glass by Dale Chihuly. Hard to pick a favorite because I liked almost all the rooms, so just go and enjoy. Well worth checking their website a few times a year and planning a vacation around one of their special attractions. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ycaruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This was a great stop for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dont feel the need to stop at the closest McD's - take the family to this cute little place to see the important cultural sites AND EAT! I found the pricing family friendly and certainly the latest exhibit to be eye opening! Go - you wont regret it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocgrad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing