We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #74 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“recent stay”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Upon driving into your parking lot, the place looked abandon and was kinda sketchy about staying there.. also the advertised lounge, indoor pool and spa were all closed for repair per the front desk people..so we were pretty disappointed with that fact.. I had told the Expedia agent I had stayed there years ago when it was a holiday inn and asked her to verify they still had a lounge and she did check for me and confirmed they still had a lounge..
First I'd like to say your staff was very friendly ..They really went out of their way to be helpful!
Our first room, the heat did not work, so the front deck person escorted us to another room and called when she went back to the front desk to make sure all was ok with the new room. ..the wall paper was pealing, and the furniture and tv were old style with limited number of channels , but functional and comfortable. again, I would say it was just below average for what I am use to staying in, but friendly and nice
..(bathroom fan and heater fan both were very noisy, I actually got up in the middle of the night and turn the heat off.)

Room Tip: I would call the front desk to make sure everything is working before reserving a room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sterling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt-GuestServices, Front Office Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you on your visit to Richmond. I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you received the personal service you did receive from our front desk agent. I do apologize however for the pool and lounge. We are recently under new management and some improvements needed to be made. The lounge and the pool were in that list so we can ensure that we provide the full exceptional experience when you visit us. We have a new management team that is dedicated to giving the full experience from the time you enter the parking lot until the time you check out. Thank you again for your candid survey and keep us in mind when you come back to Richmond because Change Is Coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    40
    55
    72
See reviews for
61
33
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Richmond Magnuson last weekend on a business trip. The room was very nice and comfortable. The rates were reasonable. I had to go to another hotel for a conference And since it was a short distance away no taxi wanted to take me. The manager offered for one of their employees to drive me there. That meant a lot to me. Looking forward to staying there again.
Neila Gobin

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank neila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt-GuestServices, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank for your choosing Richmond Magnuson Grand (RMG) because there were so many other places to choose here in Richmond. We have currently hired to great people ... our Front Office Manager and Sales Manager. They are both dedicated to enhancing the full guest experience from check-in to check-out, so thank you for noticing the change and posting your review. We hope to see you next time you in the Richmond area. Change is Coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm sorry to be writing this review because the people at the front desk were very nice, but the second I went into my hotel room I saw a HUGE live bug clinging to the curtains - I killed it and then put my suitcase in the bathtub because the room looked dirty and the carpet was stained. I found ANOTHER bug on the shower wall and killed it. I pulled back the covers on the bed and saw people's hair (not mine) and something else that was stuck to the sheets that I couldn't identify (old noodle??). Under the mattress was an abundance of crumbles of food/nut shells/candy wrappers from previous guests. I was so disgusted I slept in my clothes and used my jacket for a pillow (contemplated sleeping in the bathtub but it didn't look any cleaner), didn't even take a shower in the morning, and washed everything the second I got home just in case any bugs from the Magnuson hotel decided to hop a ride home with me. Nothing in this hotel was clean. There were only a few cars in the parking lot of the HUGE hotel, so that should have been a clue that something was amiss. I wouldn't be surprised if in the near future the hotel was closed down due to inspection. I did not even contemplate eating the complimentary breakfast. Again, I'm sorry to write this because the people at the front desk were nice but I feel a need to warn others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt-GuestServices, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
First, we do appreciate you choosing us and giving us the opportunity. I do apologize for the cleanliness of the room. That is definitely unacceptable. We have hired a new Front Office Manager who is keen on quality and cleanliness. He has hired some great housekeepers, so we know that changes are being made. We also have regularly scheduled pest control services to control those issues. If you were to stay with us again, I guarantee a different experience. If you are in the Richmond area, consider giving us a 2nd chance to provide the quality you deserve. Change has Come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is horrible! Run down, mold and mildew in rooms and hallways, no certificates in elevators, which I'm pretty sure is illegal. Hallways have no air conditioning. Rooms are old and dirty. We had an event there and we're told the day we showed up for the event by the owner, that the air conditioning for the ballroom was not working because thieves just stole the unit from the roof! Total BS. We were told by employee's that it hasn't worked in many months. Owner pretends to be different managers when we talked to him prior to the event. Very shady and a total liar. Do NOT go to this hotel, the worst experience ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picaso32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt-GuestServices, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your choosing us to host your event, and posting your review. We don't know what things we need to change unless we hear from our guests, so thank you. I do, however, apologize for your experience here at Richmond Magnuson Grand. We have made some changes since your experience. The General Manager had taken on too many hats. He has now hired a Front Office Manager dedicated to quality, and a Sales Manager committed to providing for the full service experience from a single guest to all groups. We have tackled those maintenance issues with an experienced hotel engineer. Once again, thank you for letting us know what changes we needed to make to provide our future guests a better experience. Change is Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We came here based on reviews and the pictures on the hotel website. 1) Grand is a misleading title. We must have been booked in the rooms where pictures weren't taken. 2) Our room was very dated, poor water pressure in shower and very noisy air conditioner. 3) interior of elevators were in desperate need of a cleaning and our floor's hallway smelled damp and also in need of a deep carpet shampooing. There must be a special set of rooms where those that wrote better reviews stayed. 4) Front desk staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Ed G,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel.Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Clean rooms and bathrooms, fabulous price, hotel is centrally located to everything. Front desk staff members were very nice. All things considered, a delightful weekend in Richmond. We didn't use the pool, so we can't comment. A good value for the price!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinVinFlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed here 3 times in the past few months. staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were
clean, and the hotel is located close to stores and restaurants. It also as a pool and hot tub
which is great for bringing your family and kids to enjoy while away at work. I had a issue with the
cable but as soon as i called down to the front desk the staff had it taken care of right away
so i have no complaints and i would recommend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: I would recommend sleeping on the 5th floor, not alot of noise and very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#49 of 81 in Richmond
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
0.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Richmond - W. Broad Street - Glenside - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2013 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing