We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #74 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a bad place for the money”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Booked this only a week before travel and got it for a very good price. The hotel wasn't super fancy but the front desk was nice and the room was clean. They were going to give me a room with two double beds but I told them that I had wanted a king bed. They initially said this wasn't possible but I had them check again and they ended up giving me a wheelchair accessible room with a king bed. The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel was that the elevators are incredibly slow...I mean seriously slow. I clicked the button to go down and waited several minutes and ended up going down the hall to the other elevator and waited again for that one. Overall it's a nice place for the money though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feudalord7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your time in providing us and other travelers with your feeback on your stay with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our advance purchase pricing which provides our valued guests with additional savings without sacrificing exceptional service. We constantly maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and service expected by the frequent business and leisure travelers staying with us here at the Crowne Plaza Richmond West.

I am very pleased to read we were able to provide you with your preferred bed type. We will work diligently to ensure all of our valued guests needs and preferences are met, going above and beyond to turn the "impossible" into possible!

As an older property, we work extra hard to ensure all of our amenities and services are working properly. We have regular elevator inspections and preventitive maintenance completed as part of this policy. We have relayed your feedback on our elevators to our Chief Engineer who will be looking into this. It may also be a possibility that with our many guests staying with us, despite 5 separate elevators, they may have simply been delayed in responding due to other guests usage at that particular time. Again thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look into it.

Thank you once again for your review and feedback and we look forward to hosting you once more here at the Crowne Plaza Richmond West when you are staying in Richmond, Virgina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    40
    55
    72
See reviews for
61
33
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Yes the hotel has aged, but what hasn't in this part of the country. The staff , from the front desk to the service people are nothing less than spectacular! The restaurant although a tad high priced is very well done. The bar although small, is comfortable, friendly, and is perfect for conversation after a long day of business meetings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runa10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on your stay with the Crowne Plaza Richmond West. We take great pride in our high standards with regards to providing each guest a clean, friendly and comfortable environment. We greatly appreciate your complimentts regarding our staff. We strive each and every day not to simply provide good customer service, but to excel in making your stay memorable and unique. We have recently been awarded the Meetings Service Excellence Award for the first quarter of 2011. We achieved this with the highest possible meetings satisfaction scores for a Crowne Plaza in North America.

We have added to our menu selections since your stay which are priced with great value in meeting any traveler's needs. We hope you will take the opportunity to try these outstanding selections on your next visit and provide us with further comment and feedback on how they exceeded your expectations.

Thank you once again for your review and we look foward to hosting you once again when you are in Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This was a trip with a youth sports team, had no choice of hotels. This is a tired old CP, I suspect a converted Holiday Inn. The elevator was creaky, the beds were mushy. We had free breakfast with our rate; it consisted of cereal (but no bowls!), fruit and allegedly pancakes, though there were none during the time I was there. The desk clerks and restaurant personnel were very friendly and completely inept. I would avoid this place.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jcresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

You are correct that our property was once a Holiday Inn which underwent a conversion, being upgraded to a Crowne Plaza in 2006. With this conversion came high standards which we diligently strive to achieve for our guests each and every day.

Our elevators are older as the building itself is not brand new. However, they are regularly inspected and maintained for the safety, convenience and comfort of our guests. Our comfortable bedding offers seven luxurious plillows, a plush duvet and satin-sof t sheets. We do understand each guest is unique in their preference in mattress firmness. We are sorry to read your room's mattress was too soft for your preference.

The sporting event you attended is a city wide event which chooses only select hotels after careful consideration of their quality and service. While we normally have a charge for our deluxe continental and full hot breakfast buffet served daily in our onsite full service restaurant, we did provide this additional value to enhance your experience and the other guests with your group. In reviewing your comments with our staff, we did note there was a very brief moment in which bowls were unavailable due to the high demand of many guests taking multiple bowls for their meal choices. Those bowls were made available in a very timely manner as we continued to provide the friendly service of our restaurant staff which you mentioned. The breakfast choices were varied each morning to provide a more diverse selction. The pancakes were thus not served each day but changed with other selections. We received many positive comments and feedback from those attending the event regarding not only the breakfast selections but also the stellar service and care received from the staff.

Thank you once again for your feedback and as this is an annual event, we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

My first room had plaster and paint on floor, plastic taped inside tub indicating work being done, tried phone to call desk and phone was dead. 2nd room AC banged on and off every 10 minutes - no wall thermostat as more recently remodelled rooms had. I did kind of wonder why free earplugs were supplied in the room, soon found out. I filled out the room maintenance slip (another bad sign that they had them already in the room) to get AC fixed and dropped at front desk at 8:10 AM thinking that something would happen "before I returned to my room" as the slip promised, assumed it had been corrected but had never been looked at or even acknowledged, 2nd sleepless night. Called front desk and dropped written description of problem at desk and was told no manager was available but that they would give me some extra points. No one acknowledged or addressed issues with either room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepless_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide valuable feedback. We sincerely regret your experience during your stay with us. The orginial room you were directed to was undergoing improvements to our property and should not have been available in our system to check a guest into while work was ongoing.

The earplugs you receive are a standard part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Amenity Bag which all guests receive. Guests receive all the tools necessary to create an optimal sleep experience, including an eye mask and drape clip to block out unwanted light, earplugs to ensure silence, and lavender spray to promote relaxation.

The maintenace cards we provide in our rooms are for ease of convenience to our valued guests in communicating any issues they may encounter. We regret the apparent misteps in addressing your air conditioning unit's problem and with the communication from our staff to you. We have reviewed with our staff your comments to redouble our every effort to provide the service excellence you and our valued guests deserve each and every time we have the privledge of hosting you during your stays in Richmond.

We hope you will consider our property on your next visit to Richmond, providing us the opportunity to not only meet but exceed your high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is a frequent accommodation location for my business travel. After more than a dozen overnights, I recognize the strengths of this hotel: The staff is friendly and professional; the rooms are quiet and clean and it's a great value for corporate accounts. Is the Westin newer? Yes. Nicer? Probably. Would it cost me more? Absolutely. My Crowne experience is always satisfying: I arrive, they smile and greet me by name, they get me checked in, give me my goodie bag and ask if they can do anything else for me. I've never, ever, had any issues. Thank you Crowne Plaza for exceeding my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublemdoublet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Got this hotel on Priceline and after reading the reviews here I was a little worried, but it turned out to be fine. We stayed on the 7th floor of the tower section which has its own entrance, so no long corridors for us. The hotel is between a large shopping center and some corporate campuses, certainly not a bad area. Our room was clean, warm, and had plenty of hot water--not the Ritz, but it met all of my priorities. And it was exceptionally quiet (maybe everyone else was scared away by the reviews). I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts and experience with the Crowne Plaza Richmond West. We were very pleased to hear of your positive experience which we strive at all times to provide. With 282 clean, comfortable and well maintained overnight accommodations and over 10,000 square feet of convention space, we have a large hotel with two entrances to accommodate all of our business and leisure travelers to Richmond, Virginia. Our corridors separate our overnight accommodations away from the convention space to ensure our guests receive a good night's rest while still being able to provide the five star complete service to our meeting and convention attendees. Your "exceptionally quiet" stay is what we want all of our guests to experience so they are well rested to meet the next day's activities. We host many of the large corporations within 3 blocks of our hotel such as Phillip Morris, Genworth, Reynolds and Southern States. Their presence along with many more small and local businesses, restaurants and entertainment attactions, such as the AMF Sunset Bowling Center across the street, contribute to the outstanding area here in the westend of Richmond and Henrico County. The Crowne Plaza Richmond West is proud to be part of such an exceptional community. On behalf of all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Richmond West, we thank you for valued business and look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The location appeared to be a bit shady .Not at all impressed by this hotel. Too dark and the location is not great.
If you are a frequent traveller , you will never like this hotel. Unless you are trying to accumulate points. There are other hotels that are much better in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlr_freq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.0 mi away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#50 of 81 in Richmond
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Richmond - W. Broad Street - Glenside - North
0.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2013 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing