We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Must See” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maymont

Maymont
Ranked #2 of 162 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to the community by James and Sallie Dooley who lived there from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Center Moriches
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful parks you will ever see. They have animals, winding trails, a Japanese garden, waterfall, and big open spaces for picnics. Perfect for a romantic date or a family outing. Mansion tours available. Warning: lots of walking with big hills- not for anyone who has trouble walking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank inspired64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    288
    33
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
250 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Gilded Age Opulence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The 100-acre, late Victorian country estate typifies the Gilded Age Opulence. Built in 1893 by James and Sally Dooley, the 33-room Maymont Mansion is very impressive; however, the dark wood interior makes it feel a little gloomy....can't imagine living there. Maymont was the most elaborate of several elite homes that reflected the high style of that era. We had a guided tour, by an excellent docent, of twelve restored rooms. Many of the furnishings were brought back from their travels to Europe. The estate is now a public park and it is wise to park and take the tram ride up to the mansion, which sits high on a hill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of My Fondest Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I toured this park as a teenager and the memories have stuck with me for years. I remember how something new and more beautiful was tucked behind every corner. Especially loved the Japanese gardens with the marble lily pads as you hopped over giant koi. Definitely a must see for the Richmond, VA area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Temptresstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Few cities have municipal parks of this magnitude and scope. Richmonders are blessed. From the animals to the plants (don't miss the day lilies in the summer!), this park is a delight for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice walk for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent an afternoon there with my five year old son. The aquarium and nature center were both nice. The children's farm had goats, pigs, chickens, a donkey. The animals were well kept. The wildlife viewing area was very nice, the animals had lots of room to roam in a natural habitat (black bear, deer, fox, owls, eagles). We didn't make it into the mansion, but the gardens were beautiful. We would like to go back and spent more time another day. Lots of babies and young kids out for a stroll with their parents. Very safe and peaceful walk. Beautiful mature trees, lots of shade.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing