We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
Ranked #2 of 159 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to the community by James and Sallie Dooley who lived there from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Few cities have municipal parks of this magnitude and scope. Richmonders are blessed. From the animals to the plants (don't miss the day lilies in the summer!), this park is a delight for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    275
    31
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice walk for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent an afternoon there with my five year old son. The aquarium and nature center were both nice. The children's farm had goats, pigs, chickens, a donkey. The animals were well kept. The wildlife viewing area was very nice, the animals had lots of room to roam in a natural habitat (black bear, deer, fox, owls, eagles). We didn't make it into the mansion, but the gardens were beautiful. We would like to go back and spent more time another day. Lots of babies and young kids out for a stroll with their parents. Very safe and peaceful walk. Beautiful mature trees, lots of shade.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thursday Concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Didn't know much about the place, met my cousin for a free Thursday night jazz concert which I think occurs every Thursday evening (could be wrong). Brought a cooler with food & drink listened to great live music. Kids loved it, plenty of room to run around. Perfect weather didn't hurt either. Cool place, want to return to see more of it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank w650dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was traveling on business and had a little downtime over the weekend. I dropped by Maymont for a quick stroll. The gardens and fountains were beautiful. I loved watching the large Koi swim around the Japanese garden with the floating circles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SharkeyMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A Nice Historical Victorian Home & Park Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to go in Richmond. Take a tour of the Dooley's Victorian Home, from the Gilded Age. They have the old stables and some of their cars in the garages for display. There are horse drawn carriage rides on the property, as well as a tram for sight seeing and getting around the place. They have very nice walking and natural scenic trails, as well as a small petting Zoo, a nature center. Very nice place to visit, especially on a day with beautiful weather. We enjoy this site very much, they also have some events throughout the year for the public.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeoniaNeveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maymont also viewed

 

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing