We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of my favorite places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
Ranked #2 of 160 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to the community by James and Sallie Dooley who lived there from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love Maymont. It's a wonderful place for a long walk up and down the hills, or just for a stroll around the house to educate yourself about the many trees populating the expansive grounds. Over twenty years ago, my children clambered over the roots of trees clinging to the embankment above the bear enclave, and played hide-and-seek in the bamboo "forest" in the Japanese Garden. Children still play in both areas, as well as enjoy running freely on the many open grassy areas of the park. There is something for everyone of every age at Maymont. Take a look at the website to get an idea of what peaks your interest.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwfgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,019
    274
    31
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Love taking the tour of the house and seeing all the decorations at Christmas but Spring is my favorite. Beautiful gardens and flowers!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank islelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVELY PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the prettiest places in Richmond. If you can take a tour of the house, it is amazing. A must see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kylethorne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great free day for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Want to see birds, bears, monkeys and more? Want a petting zoo for the little ones? Want a nice hike around well landscaped property? If so, this is the place for you! And, for a small fee, you can also tour the Dooley mansion which is nice to do at least once.

Helpful?
1 Thank jasbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville,nc
Level Contributor
276 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beautiful BIG park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent a few hours walking around this beautiful big park. Its much bigger then one would think. I did not tour the house. Even though the grounds were rather drab in Jan (which didn't matter to me and I figured it would be) ....I imagined what it would look like in the spring when things are in bloom. I totally enjoyed the gardens, especially the Japanese one with its lake and the big koi. Great place for families and kids. So many hidden little areas. Walked thru the nature center and viewed the animals. I was amazed at how big this park was, so be sure to bring your walking shoes! And its all free! They do ask for a donation. I would go back again if I am in the area, especially during a time when things are more in bloom.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maymont also viewed

 

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing