We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have stayed in many LQ's because I travel with my dog. Unfortunately this hotel was not one of the good hotels, but certainly was adequate.

The front desk person was distant and really didn't care about checking me in, or even smiling. At least he was efficient and it only took a couple minutes to check in. They were doing some construction in the front in the parking lot, so of course it was dirty. The door had no lock on it, so wide open to anyone that wasn't staying there. The hotel is very outdated and was some other brand as the layout isn't like the lq's. Room needed some good vacuuming, especially around the corners and edging (the whole hotel needed that (not to manager, get some edging tools for vacuums)) Food was left in fridge that had gone bad, gross.

The good, it is very very quiet. My room faced that back and it didn't have spot lights coming in, it was nice. So the darkness at night was also a big plus for some nice sleep. The AC was okay but I had the windows open with a nice breeze coming in. The location is great, right off the highway.

So overall for a good nights sleep and quick trip is was great. It would be kind of a depressing place to stay there for any extended stays for me. Dingy and outdated.

It was good for a one night stay.

Room Tip: It was nice having a room that faces the back of the hotel as it was dark without security lights. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavesh S, Manager at La Quinta Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the La Quinta Richmond.
I apologized on behalf of our staff here at the La Quinta Inn for the inconvience to you.
Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta In are our top priorities.
We are going to remodel entire motel starting next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    100
    70
    73
    48
See reviews for
175
86
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've been very impressed with La Quinta as a very nice budget hotel.
Alas, this unit was a disappointment. We checked in late, 11-ish, and had to call out for someone to check us in. While pleasant enough, the young man who checked us in was wearing a t-shirt (not a 'style' t-shirt, just a 'band' t-shirt) and jeans.
Room was tired and stale, and while there was a refrigerator, sink, microwave and small kitchen area, the cabinets looked to be homemade. The lighting in the room was oddly placed and dim.
None of this was a deal breaker, and we slept well, but it's time for a refresh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavesh S, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Richmond La Quinta.
i am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations;please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We are going to remodel within 1 month.
Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta are our top priorities.
We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standard.

Sincerely

Neil Maniar
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

All hotel features fine but the bed. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean, however it was a terrible mattress. The covers must have been old and shrunk because only sat on top of mattress. Any movement at all and your sleeping directly on the mattress. My traveling companion had a similar experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavesh S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Richmond La Quinta.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations;please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We have replaced the cover for mattress and we are going to remodel the motel with in 1 month.
Once again I apologized for your problem,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Georgetown,TX.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

general updating is needed, carpets are dirty, no printer available to print boarding pass, breakfast was good, local McDonald's is open 24-7. (drive thru) Parking is limited by the amount of trucks. I would not recommend this Hotel for familes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr6922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

we have stayed at la quinta a few times. once a few years back in St Augustine, Fl. and we were pleased with the room, rate staff and so on.
This year we stayed at a La Quinta in Florence, SC and on the way back in Richmond, Va. Both locations were a huge disappointment from our St Augustine experience. Perhaps it is because a few years have passed, or perhaps ownership changed?
This trip both hotels were not that clean, although the sheets are white (which I appreciate) and they were certainly clean. The Richmond location had comfortable beds unlike the Florence location. The rug in Richmond was old and nasty and one wants to make sure they keep shoes or slippers on. Both locations had pleasant staff which is a plus. We had noise problems at both locations, in Florence we were near the laundry room and people were talking in the wee hours
of the morning for some time, at the Richmond location people were outside in the parking lot talking at strange hours and woke us up. We have a dog so that is the primary and actually only reason for staying at La Quinta and they don't charge extra...although next trip I will book another hotel as for me it really isn't any bargain if we are unhappy with the place we are staying and paying the pet fee elsewhere where we will have a good night sleep it is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterviews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff was friendly and the rooms were clean, A few rough edges but this is an older building. Breakfast was plentiful and well attended by staff. Our King Suite was very clean and the bed was VERY comfortable. Great nights sleep. Only 10 seconds from I 95 with gas and food right there. Easy off and on. Will definitely use the one again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The staff was friendly, and reservations were ready upon our arrival. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Travelers looking for a nice quiet night to sleep, free wifi access and breakfast - you have found a location here, we recommend. Enjoy your travel and relax here to be refreshed after long days of driving. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Long days on the road this was a perfect stop to break up the travel on Rte 95 and prepare you for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneOpinionNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond I-95 South
4.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#65 of 82 in Richmond
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Property: La Quinta Inn Richmond South
Address: 9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing