We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay on the Road With a Pet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Family-run hotel with friendly staff and no extra pet charges. Rooms are clean and well kept. Breakfast is included and has a good range of items, including make-you-own waffles, scrambled egg patties and sausage, as well as cereal, yogurt and rolls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Shadowchb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn Richmond South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 390 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I usually like La Quinta Hotels because of the value you get for the price you pay. We have never had a bad experience at a La Quinta hotel until this trip. Besides having dirty and torn carpeting (even in the lobby) the "non-smoking room we had contained a bed with sheets that had cigarette burn holes. Although the room was " non- smoking" there was still an unidentified odor present and cigarette burns on the counter in the bathroom. Because it was very late when we arrived, we just accepted our fate and went to sleep. Upon checking out the following morning, the desk clerk was busy talking on the telephone and did not even acknowledge me and managed to check me out while still talking on his phone. Not even a courteous "thank you" or a smile with a nod of his head. He did not say a single word to me before, during or after I left the desk. We will never again stay at this La Quinta. We will, however, stay at other La Quinta hotels as I am sure this facility will not stand up to he standards set by the parent company. If I were CEO of La Quinta Hotels, I would close this facility.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a night at LaQuinta, Richmond south, which is really a suburb of Richmond proper. Nice hotel, pet friendly, which was essential, as we were travelling with two dogs. We had a large, clean room, with a fridge, microwave, two double beds, and a flat screen. Bed was very comfortable with nice sheets. Area seemed safe, as we had to walk the dogs at night and early in the morning. Local restaurants mostly of the chain variety, so don't expect fine dining close-by, but they were adequate. In short, this is a great value, esp. if you are travelling with dogs (they do not charge extra for dogs, as does the Marriott). Not the Ritz, but well worth the $80 we paid for our room.

Room Tip: If you stay on the second floor, the windows open to a private wooded space. Very nice for those wh...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliftongirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank dona l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A La Quinta traveler
Milford, New Hampshire, USA
1
Reviewed May 1, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
White Marsh, Maryland, USA
2
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Finally a room with a bed not made by Fred Flintstone--hard as a rock. And the cost of the room was not a mortgage payment. A beautiful lobby with an attractive outdoor presentation. Four quibbles: no safety bar in bathtub; no safety mat in bathtub; room had one bedside table--for second queen bed had to use the seat of a chair for a table--no reading lamp for second bed. Lastly, NO WORK LIGHT ON OR NEAR DESK. i carry a book light so I could make do. Despite these objections, I do recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have two main problems with this hotel. 1) The walls must be paper thin as you can hear every door shutting up and down the hall, as well as various other noises from adjoining rooms. 2) The "hot" water is luke warm at best. Other than that, the rest of the hotel is just OK. The decor was somewhat dated, but the room was large, and the bed comfortable enough. The AC/heating unit kept the room comfy and the TV selections were decent. The majority of the restaurants were about 3 miles away, but easy to get to. This would not be a place that I would want to stay at again, mainly because of the noise. I did not get a very restful sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room away from an exit so you don't hear the door slamming all the time.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA_Cameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond I-95 South
4.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#66 of 82 in Richmond
66 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Address: 9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $83 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing