We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill since last October”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since last October”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband & I have stayed here 3 times since last October. We drive from South FL on our way north to visit our son either in NYC or DC. The first time we stayed here in October, it was wonderful! We do travel with our small dog, so we are limited on locations to stay. The room was spacious and clean, and the area is quiet and I felt safe walking our dog at night after dark. We stayed again in December with the same quality and expectations as before. We were even offered a much lower rate since we had just been there a couple of months earlier.
However, our stay on Friday before Memorial Day was quite different. I had called while we were driving up I-95 to make a reservation. When I asked for the same rate as Dec, I was told that they could not offer it. I knew that we had been quite satisfied before, so I didn't push it. Ok, when we arrived, they were very busy and it was a holiday weekend. Our first two visits had been cooler outside. But this time, it was very warm. First, we walked down the hall that looked as if it had not been vacuumed in quite some time. As we entered the room, there was some odor that we could not quite figure out, but we were so tired after being on the road for 13 -14 hours, we overlooked it. It dissipated after having the a/c on for a while. Although they do have refrigerators and microwaves in all the rooms along with free wi-fi and parking, the next time we travel to see our son, I will definitely look for another location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickPosseeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    100
    70
    73
    48
See reviews for
175
86
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

When we walked in there was no one at the front desk, you have to use a phone at the front desk to call someone to come help you. This was also the case when checking out. I thought during busier hours the front desk would be manned. It was not which made me wonder a little bit about the neighborhood.
The carpet in the elevator was obviously old as it was coming up off the floor and was quite stained. The carpet in the room was also stained. The elevator door also made a noise that sounded like something out of a horror movie.
The bed was somewhat comfortable considering my husband and I had been sleeping on an air mattress in transition to our new home. The pillows were too fluffy and tiny.
They allowed us to bring our dogs into the hotel with no additional fees or deposit which was awesome. Our two large dogs are both very friendly but I'm pretty sure the desk clerk was terrified of them.
Overall the experience wasnt terrible for the price but it wasnt great either.

Room Tip: Use discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmng84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is a nice place 10 miles south of Richmond, but the city is easily accessible by many highways. The hotel is clean, has numerous amenities including a small fitness room, a coin laundry, and a reasonable breakfast. It also takes pets, which is not easy in this town. Our room was large, comfortable and had good internet connections. If I were coming back here this would definitely be my choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Working in the area and stayed long term in this hotel. The staff have been great! I asked to change rooms one time and they didn't hesitate. My wife and sometimes my daughter came to visit on the weekends and the front desk were very helpful in giving her directions to local area shopping. There were a few small maintenance issues but not a big problem for me at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammysue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Price/location was good. Takes pets with no fee. Breakfast was a little lacking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We thought there would be more consistency in La Quintas. My wife and I have stayed at quite a few, especially the nice La Quinta in Durham, NC, but quite a few others as well. This property, we could immediately tell, must have been under another name first and simply taken over. That'd be okay if you had consistency. The entire place is substandard. The lobby floor is a hazard if your shoes are at all wet (it's been raining outside): slippery is an understatement. Poor lighting, tiny, ho-hum rooms, new "flat screen" tv's (brand: ViewSonic-??), paper-thin walls. This should not be a La Qunita if that brand is seeking consistency of experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Arverne, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We've stayed here over 4 times, the service is great, the rooms are very clean, complimentary breakfast in the morning and you can bring your pets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrosariol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond I-95 South
4.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#65 of 82 in Richmond
66 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Property: La Quinta Inn Richmond South
Address: 9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing