We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Amour Wine Bistro

Amour Wine Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Amour Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The prix fixe menu was reasonably priced and offered a wide choice. The food was excellent--inventive and very flavorful. A wine pairing with each course is optional, at three levels. We chose the basic level and were surprised at how beautifully the wines matched the cuisine. A bonus was that the owner, who is from Alsace and is passionate about wine, explained each selection to us in detail when it arrived.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saratogaWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return to Paris if only for Moment”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Echo these reviews!
Great dishes, great service, reasonable prices, Paul teh owners personal touch, superb recomemndations to menu and wines, warm atmsophere, took us back to some great spots we found in Paris- this has gone to the top of our list- located in lovely downtown Carytown to boot!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed at Amour Wine Bistro and enjoyed every element of our dining experience. The quality of the food was amazing and every bite was savored. We ordered the three-course menu; but opted not to indulge in the wine pairing since we had pre-dinner cocktails. My appetizer was the sweetbreads and it was lovely and rich. My husband also enjoyed it very much, not having a clue about what he was eating. Our main courses were just as delicious (ahi special and crab cakes). The desserts were a great ending to the wonderful meal. If you enjoy taking your time with a good food and drink this a great place to try. The place was not overly loud, but not too quiet. Good ambience for a date or a small dinner parter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nessa1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore area
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“French - For a Special Occasion”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This meal was our 9th anniversary treat and what a great meal it was! We both ordered the Prix Fixe 3-course dinner served with wine pairings. Between us, we had 6 different wines, and of course we had to sample each other's libation. The owner, Paul, was a delight, expounding on his selected wines as only the French can. You can tell that his heart and soul are in this restaurant. We've had equally good food at other places, but the atmosphere here made it special for us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank retired_travelers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arrived around 7:30 on a Sat. without reservations and were seated promptly at a window table. The restaurant is narrow and small, only 8 tables in the front part, in the rear is a 6 stool bar with two high-top tables along the wall. Our waiter, Chris, was very attentive and knowledgeable of the foods. The owner presented our menus, explained the food and opened and poured our wine. He is from Alsace, speaks English fluently and was very personable and fun to talk to.

The menu has a fine selection of French style cuisine. We chose to eat in a grazing fashion and selected from the appetizer list; the Tart topped with Gruyere cheese, the Pissaladiere, the half and half salumi platter and the large size salad of the day (frisee lettuce topped with grilled Filet Mignon). All was delicious, and plenty of food for two. We chose a Riesling from Alsace to drink which greatly pleased our host.

The only glitch was when we ordered a second bottle of wine so we could take it back to our hotel room and it was corked. The owner tasted it, agreed with us and promptly produced another bottle that was fine.

I highly recommend this jewel of a restaurant for the food, service and ambiance.

Notes: We had been going to Can Can Brasserie located across the street from Amour, but the wait was almost two hours, the bar was packed and it was very noisy. We decided to stroll and look for somewhere else and that is how we found Amour Wine Bistro. When I return I will definitely call for a reservation, our table in the front window was great for people watching. (We love Can Can, and go there whenever we visit Richmond, but usually for lunch when it is much less hectic.)

The Amour offers wine pairings of three different qualities of wine with selections from the menu for a pris fixe dinner. This looked interesting, but we wanted to dine in a lighter fashion.

The restaurant filled up with late diners, one group came in just for the desserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amour Wine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Amour Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing