We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oops..surprisingly poor food”

Conch Republic Rocketts
Ranked #203 of 1,606 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“oops..surprisingly poor food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have been here before. The band was wonderful. Bar was great. The waitress was outstanding...but the food was horrendous. We were there to celebrate a birthday. The fish tacos were stone cold..and the rest of the plate not edible. I had salmon that was grossly dry and not appetizing. The quality of their food has gone down since their opening. When reported to the manager he was uncooperative and not apologetic. He finally gave my daughter an inexpressive (cheap) coupon which we will not use. It did nowhere cover the cost of even one plate. This restaurant would do much better if they improved their attitude and improved the kitchen staff as they claim to be a restaurant and not a bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letsgo452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    60
    37
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“NEVER got our food, TERRIBLE service!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Just left this place, after ordering and literally waiting for over an HOUR.... For the food that NEVER came.

IT wasn't only our waiter, Brian that was the problem, the manager ignored us, repeatedly.

When we finally saw one of the three tables, (which were seated after us) get ready to leave, after being served and eating their meals, we had enough.

Icing on the cake, no apologies, no nothing except for charging us for our drinks .....two cokes, two waters and still NO apology!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The service was prompt and friendly. The food was delicious. The location and atmosphere were fabulous. Would recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting the Richmond area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went there after work for a happy hour/girls night out. Surprising the food was very good, especially the appetizers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs a Spark”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Conch Republic is lacking that "spark" to turn this average restaurant into something exceptional. The menu choices are great - if they have the food in stock. I visited The Conch Republic in April with my co-workers and overall was not impressed (nor was I put off, though) by the service and the availability of food in the kitchen. The Conch has a Florida Keys marina feel, which would feel more authentic if they actually had the food which they advertised on the menu. Several of my co-workers ordered sandwiches made with flounder only to be told that they were out of flounder. As it was lunchtime on a Wednesday, I was a little surprised that they wouldn't have already restocked from the weekend. What food they did have on hand garnered no complaints from any of us, and our orders ranged from crab cakes, po'boy sandwiches, a Florida Keys version of a club (I believe it had pineapple on it, which was delicious), and several types of dessert, of which the key lime pie was outstanding!

Although we had made reservations in advance for a party of twelve, we only had one waitress; as such, service was very, very slow. The restaurant wasn't even at half capacity either. Our food did not arrive at the same time - some of us waited an additional ten minutes for it to be brought out. From start to finish, we spent over two and a half hours at The Conch, which is a ridiculously overlong time for lunch service.

Pros: It has outdoor seating which is very popular on days with beautiful weather as it overlooks the James River and has good views of Richmond, too. The menu has interesting choices, which makes this place stand out from other restaurants in the same price range. I've been told that the late night scene is pretty good at their bar and would be willing to check it out sometime.

Cons: I was not "wowed" by the experience. If the service had been faster, perhaps I would've rated this place better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SvenskaSvea1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conch Republic Rocketts also viewed

 

Been to Conch Republic Rocketts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing