We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait, but worth it....”
Review of Mama J's Kitchen

Mama J's Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Long wait, but worth it....”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Small restaurant downtown that serves awesome food. The wait was long but the food was worth it. The catfish nuggests and the coconut cake was delish!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    135
    34
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mama knows best!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Was looking for a new place in Richmond during a recent visit and used TripAdvisor to check out the listings. Mama J's looked like a good bet, even though it was a bit of a drive for me. Downtown location, while my hotel was about 20 mins away. Was sort of familiar with the area, so decided to check it out. I was glad I did.

Dining alone, seated at the bar. Very hospitable young lady bartender. My meal was:

Fried Shrimp appetizer - wonderfully crisp on the outside, but tender inside. (ask for tartar or cocktail, because the plate comes pretty 'naked')

Small order of Catfish with a side of greens, corn muffin and an extra dinner roll. Catfish was perfectly fried, same as the shrimp. Crispy out, tender in. Greens, although helped with a bit of hot-sauce were also cooked perfectly and mighty tasty. Corn muffin was, although small-ish, one of the best tasting corn muffins ever. Not in any way dry...didn't even need a bit of butter. Very tender. Roll was not made in-house, so skip that and stay with the corn muffin.

During my meal, the fellow next to me got some fried chicken wings (not sauced) as an appetizer - it was happy hour and they were on special! After looking at how they were breaded and cooked, I had to have a half-dozen for dessert. Soooo crisp and tender. Could have eaten 24 if I had known before my catfish.

Didn't get traditional dessert (see above), but they're apparently famous for their cakes. They looked fabulous, but alas, no room.

All this for about $20 bucks. Had to leave a very hefty tip 'cause they were worth it!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

GB

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GianniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hmm, hmmm, hmm!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have eaten here several times, but this is the first time I have written a review. This is a well established, successful local place where you will wait in line to get in, so maybe I shouldn't make the line any longer! But really, you should check this out. There is nothing that is not good, although I have a hard time passing up catfish when I am there. The meatloaf looked terricfic and our dinner companion loved the crab cakes. The title of my review is actually a quote from him. Don't pass up the candied yams or the greens- so good! The gravy is homemade so if you can't pass up mashed potatoes, which are just Thanksgiving perfect, you will not be disappointed. The corn bread muffins make you wonder why yours are never that good. I always want to try the fabulous looking cakes that you see under domes while you wait to get in, but I have not once been able to find the room for it. They are luscious and I can just imagine how delicious but someone else will have to review them. Really nice people too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“PRICEY and worh it!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our first visit to this place was today; from a recommendation by a nearby merchant we frequently buy from, the Chic Chapeau Hat Shop (very good Ladies' Hats). We arrived just before the lunch stampede on Saturday and were immediately greeted and seated. Menu's are "under the glass" on the tables. Staff is very very guest-friendly and knowledgeable. Catfish Dinner with sides and a Chef Salad fed 2 of us quite well with desserts for almost $35 American. Service was impressively good. NOT our idea of a bargain, but WELL WORTH it. We RARELY rate a restaurant as a "great value", but this one IS. Much better than the fare at some nearby "more-advertised" places. DO expect to be pleased with both service and food there. Like the late Jimmy Dean said; "it's better to explain the price than apologize for lack of quality." THESE folks can RIGHTLY BRAG about their offerings. We're going back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djlovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, warm atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

After visiting the fine arts muse ah we went lookin for a good place to eat in downtown. This place kept popping up as the place to try out. Parking was on the street and if your not comfortable with an urban environment then go in the day. It's a small cozy place. Cute and rustic decor. We ordered the fried catfish with greens and Mac and cheese. Catfish was perfect. Greens were so tasty.
The waitstaff was accommodating and friendly. Generous portions served. We loved our visit there. Will be back when in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chiacapz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama J's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama J's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing