We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“southern homestyle cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama J's Kitchen

Mama J's Kitchen
415 North 1st St, Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 225-7449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,565 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
doylestown,pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“southern homestyle cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Mama J's is just the best. Food is great, best catfish, and baked pork chops I ever had. Save room for the bread pudding Reasonable prices and extra friendly service. Fabulous. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marian807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    103
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stopped in for lunch during a midweek trip to Richmond. We had been to Mama J's shortly after it opened and thought it was great. It has only gotten better. The catfish was excellent and we enjoyed the option to get one or two pieces depending on how hungry you were or whether you wanted to save room for dessert which I would definitely recommend. Our side dishes were great also and I highly recommend the mac and cheese and the seafood salad. We split a piece of the lemon cake with lemon frosting which was a perfect combination, not too sweet and not too tart. Luckily, we arrived before noon because it filled up quickly. The service was excellent also even after the restaurant was full. It is no longer a well kept secret as all the other excellent reviews indicate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger26_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After reading the reviews, we were very curious and went earlier in case it got crowded later. Glad that we did! We waited for 20 minutes when we got there around 6 pm on a Sunday night. Lived in Atlanta/Nashville for 2 years so know a thing or two about southern cuisine. Mama J's kitchen is one of the best southern restaurants outside of the bible belt!! My first impression of southern cuisine is that "they do pork some sweet justice!" Mama J's Kitchen is no exception. The salad was nice and big and super fresh. If we did not need to get back to Maryland that night, we would have hung out even longer. Mama J's Kitchen is a must when you visit Richmond!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Food-EXCELLENT,I cannot stress that enough and if you like cakes & pies,do not leave this place without trying some. Sooooooo good! I promise,you won't be disappointed!

Service-I've always had attentive servers whenever I go there. I've been when it's busy and also when it hasn't been busy.

Restaurant- Yes,it is small and the tables are close together,but the atomosphere is great and the decor is beautiful. I am sure the wait times can be long since there are not that many tables. The prices are a la carte,but very reasonable.

Overall,this place is great,it is small and it's in an area where you may have to search a bit for parking,but neither of those reasons would ever deter me from going to this place. One of the best resturants i've ever been too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NellatheDiva126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I dined at this restaurant last year for the 1st time, after hearing really good things about the food. I enjoyed the food and the atmostphere - great vibe! The place is very small and the food is pricey but would definitely go again. You must get there early in order to get a table.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama J's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama J's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing