We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Selba - CLOSED

Selba
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stafford
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love their brunch especially chicken and waffles (best in RVA that I've tried). Nice looking on the inside. Service is on the slow side. For big groups its a little hit or miss. Had a group of 40 or so and it was a bit of a mess.
If you want to sit in the garden room get a reservation, they are a bit funny about that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TV804_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Brunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I met friends for Sunday brunch on her birthday.
The food was fantastic, the atmosphere very relaxed and casual and the staff took very good care of us.
We will return

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beautiful little restaurant on W Cary. Great room in back that is like a greenhouse. Also had a nice room for a function (we had about 10 for a business dinner and the private room was perfect). Added bonus was the live music. Food was excellent and good selection of wine. Had a great salad and scales cooked perfectly. Bread pudding for dessert was a nice finish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlenW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, worth the trip down Cary Street”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Last spring, my family and I had stumbled upon Selba by chance after enjoying a nice day in Maymont Park. We enjoyed a nice afternoon meal. Tonight, we returned again after not being able to get into another restaurant and once again had a satisfying meal. There was a talented pianist playing in the main room, which could be heard over the speakers throughout the restaurant. Everyone in my party enjoyed their meal, from the appetizers (the caramelized pear salad was very good with a unique hazelnut twist) to the main course (my Byladi with a kale side was unique and tasty) to the dessert (the chocolate cake with raspberry filling was the right amount of moistness and balance of flavors). I will definitely return here again for another meal. The only drawback is the potential conversation-barring music depending on how close to the piano you are. Definitely travel a bit further down Cary Street away from the immediate hustle and bustle to find this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Readrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good brunch; excellent coffee”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went on a Sunday afternoon. We were seated in the back room, which is a pleasant garden room with all the plants. The food was very good, although there was no butter, jam or jelly with the English muffin - just a dry, ordinary hunk of bread. The omelette, however, was prepared with a deft hand, and the grits were quite good. The coffee was fabulous.
Off-street parking is available for those lucky enough to snag a spot. Selba's decor is sleek & inviting. It's a good choice for brunch in the Fan area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing