We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tight squeeze”

Richmond Canal Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Hampton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a tight squeeze”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently got this deal on Groupon and tried it out. When I got there it was about a 30 min break before the boat left so we walked around the Canal Walk. When boarding you see how tight it is. You are knee to knee with the person directly accross from you. There is a bench in the middle with 2 sides and then chairs surounding the outside. If someone is larger or obese they are spilling over into your chair. Not comfortable for the 40 mins

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brittany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    27
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super Canal Cruise!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently took the canal cruise (we've lived here 13 years and never did it). Went early morning and had a delightful time. Excellent canal guide with lots of great stories and enthusiasm and a wonderful story telling voice that made you want to hear more. Very patient also since there were many photography buffs on board.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank celeste m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Affordable, short tour”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I took my family on this trip while they were in town and our boat was actually relatively empty. It is not the best tour in the area but it is exactly what you would expect for a $6, 45 minute tour. They take you to the area of the canal that you don't typically walk on so I would recommend walking the other end as is it more pedestrian friendly and more scenic (especially as you get down to Brown's Isle). This tour is more of a mini-history lesson on a short boat trip than a scenic cruise. I would definitely recommend this for families since it is not very long and is affordable for a larger group.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlea_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty dull, unfortunately”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our favorite rite of passage on our vacations has become a riverboat ride wherever available. We find them relaxing and a wonderful view of the city that you don't get anywhere else.

Not so much in Richmond, however. The boats leave every hour on the hour (be warned, there are no convenient restroom facilities anywhere nearby). The Guide was certainly knowledgeable but there just wasn't a lot to work with. The scenery is just...not there. The water is dirty, the canal is lined by rusting train tracks and old buildings converted into yuppie condos. There was nothing romantic at all. You are crammed into a 35-person boat designed for maybe half that number, and you go up the canal a few hundred yards, and then you go back the way you came.

The only bright spot came late in the cruise, when our guide compellingly recounted President Lincoln's arrival in Richmond at the end of the Civil War. That was interesting and dramatic, and kept this from being a 1-star review. The price was cheap at $6, I would not pay any more than that and frankly it's probably worth only $5.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellipooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“AWESOME HISTORIC CANAL TOUR”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have lived in Midlothian over 2 years and only heard of this tour on TRIP ADVISOR (THANKS) went yesterday with a friend and it was so beautiful, informative and just FUN!! BRing your own water or buy with your ticket; which is a BARGAIN, only $6.00 We saw a great blue heron, and turtles, had a glorious beautiful day on the water; only takes 45 minutes so you can do lots of other Richmond things. You can see the tower of the Train Station also I got photo of Connecticut and the Confederate Soldier monument in same photo....well done Mr. Tourguide, sorry I did not get your name, tall guy with long beard~ GREAT JOB!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Canal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Richmond Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing