We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The One Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a fantastic couple of nights at The One. As Polly was showing us around her beautiful home and stunning accommodation, my companion and I couldn't stop grinning at each other. It's a fabulous place. The room we had was wonderfully kitsch, beautifully decorated and came with a balcony for late night watching the world go by. Polly is completely charming and will do anything to help you. As other guests have mentioned the parlour was a revelation, heaving with snacks and goodies and an excellent and very necessary coffee machine. We loved staying at The One, it is deliciously quirky, full of character and, should I have occasion to go to Richmond again, definitely the place I'd be heading.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looby1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you SO much for the lovely review and kind words! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you have an opportunity to come visit us again someday!! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and others! it is greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic 1-night stay at The One. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and clean. The lounge across the hall from the 2 bedrooms is open 24/7 and stocked with snacks, beverages (including beer and wine), and lots of helpful information about Richmond. The One is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants and Polly can give you excellent recommendations (mine: drinks and oysters at Can Can during happy hour!). I hope to have another reason to visit Richmond so that I can stay at The One again.

Room Tip: The Slumber Suite (blue room) has a larger shower, but faces the main road and is probably louder at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The One Bed and Breakfast! It was truly a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The host, Polly was lovely & very helpful. The room was nice, but very small. I don't think there was a/c in our room & it was pretty warm at night, though the fan did help a bit. My only problem was that the bathroom was out in the hall. I probably would not have booked the room if I had known that. All it said was private bath, with no mention that it was in the hall (it's also very tiny & the shower wouldn't drain, which was kind of gross). If the hall bath doesn't bother you, then you'll be fine (not me, I like my privacy). Also, since it's an old house, they use the original room keys, which are neat on one hand, but kind of a pain to use. On the plus side, the lounge across from the room was a bonus. Quite a good variety of goodies & drinks, magazines, etc. The continental breakfast is a do-it-yourself kind of deal, pretty much grocery store bought items. Decent variety, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dmarcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

At The One B&B we take feedback from our guests very seriously and do our best to address every concern expressed as we strive for our guests to have a pleasurable and comfortable experience.

In response to the concerns expressed in this review, we have updated our website with a floor plan illustrating the layout and room sizes of our guest quarters. We have also made updates to the guest suite bath description on our website to avoid confusion. Finally, all items on our breakfast menu are now more detailed on our breakfast page, so guests can see the variety we offer.

The One, built in 1914, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places so guests should expect to experience a bit of historic charm during their visit. While we offer all of the modern amenities, like central AC, many features are original to the home and add to its character. While our guest rooms do feature the original skeleton locks, they are fully functional and do provide our guests with security and privacy.

We hope you will take a few minutes to read through a sampling of our reviews on both Trip Advisor and Bed and Breakfast.com to hear what other guests are saying about their stay here at The One!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I just spent a lovely weekend at The One Bed and Breakfast. The location is fantastic with stores and great restaurants within walking distance. The One offers a quaint coziness in the heart of Richmond. It is exquisitely decorated, and Sean and Polly, along with their beagles Marv and E, are pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My daughter and I spent one night at " The One Bed and Breakfast" in March. We were traveling and wanted to spend an afternoon in Richmond. Sean and Polly were wonderful hosts. We felt very welcome, even though we arrived hours behind schedule. Our second floor bedroom had a porch so we were able to sit out at night and enjoy the area. Breakfast was really good and plentiful. There is a parlor where you can relax and have one of the many types of drinks and snacks. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annapwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The One. Our room was lovely--very well appointed, clean, and with a super comfortable bed. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the evening. The bathroom, which was private but located in the hall next to our room, was beautiful. The location is fantastic--within easy walking distance to restaurants and museums. Off-street parking is available. We enjoyed the "make yourself at home" atmosphere fostered by Sean and Polly. Lounging in the parlor reading Richmond magazines while grabbing a snack and a cup of coffee made us feel like we were in a dear friend's home rather than a B&B. Moreover, Sean & Polly are friendly, gracious hosts. The One truly felt like a home away from home and I'm looking forward to finding an excuse to get back to Richmond and The One soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful--you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limeijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

'The One' exceeded our expectations. We chose it because of the close proximity to our son's apartment (just relocated to Richmond) in 'The Fan' district.... we will return because of Sean and Polly and their outstanding hospitality. The house is an absolute gem and is within walking distance of many fine restaurants and museums. We look forward to our return visit in the fall and beyond.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.9 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,079 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,315 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
793 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 N Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23220-4301
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $129 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Of Richmond 2015! Enjoy all of the comforts of home on Richmond's historic Boulevard. In the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, The One is surrounded by some of the cities greatest attractions all within walking distance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing