We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fun At The One!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The One Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
“Fabulous Fun At The One!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I just spent a lovely weekend at The One Bed and Breakfast. The location is fantastic with stores and great restaurants within walking distance. The One offers a quaint coziness in the heart of Richmond. It is exquisitely decorated, and Sean and Polly, along with their beagles Marv and E, are pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
51
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My daughter and I spent one night at " The One Bed and Breakfast" in March. We were traveling and wanted to spend an afternoon in Richmond. Sean and Polly were wonderful hosts. We felt very welcome, even though we arrived hours behind schedule. Our second floor bedroom had a porch so we were able to sit out at night and enjoy the area. Breakfast was really good and plentiful. There is a parlor where you can relax and have one of the many types of drinks and snacks. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annapwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The One. Our room was lovely--very well appointed, clean, and with a super comfortable bed. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the evening. The bathroom, which was private but located in the hall next to our room, was beautiful. The location is fantastic--within easy walking distance to restaurants and museums. Off-street parking is available. We enjoyed the "make yourself at home" atmosphere fostered by Sean and Polly. Lounging in the parlor reading Richmond magazines while grabbing a snack and a cup of coffee made us feel like we were in a dear friend's home rather than a B&B. Moreover, Sean & Polly are friendly, gracious hosts. The One truly felt like a home away from home and I'm looking forward to finding an excuse to get back to Richmond and The One soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful--you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limeijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

'The One' exceeded our expectations. We chose it because of the close proximity to our son's apartment (just relocated to Richmond) in 'The Fan' district.... we will return because of Sean and Polly and their outstanding hospitality. The house is an absolute gem and is within walking distance of many fine restaurants and museums. We look forward to our return visit in the fall and beyond.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

"The One" is a great place to stay for all types of trips to Richmond! It has a great mix of old charm, but has some modern amenities that I personally like to have. Guests have their own private entrance so you can come an go as you please. Each room has their own bathroom which is not always the case with a lot of B&B's. There are lots of different neighborhood Resturants and Bars within a short walk of the "The One", which is what Old Richmond is known for. When I was there Breakfast was perfect for me. Cereal, english muffins, freshly cut fruit, cinnamon buns, and a few other goodies. There are always some snacks and refreshments in the parlor room at all times. Sean and Polly were great hosts who answered all questions I had. If you are looking for a great place to exprience Richmond give "The One" a try!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic weekend at "The One" B & B. We have been to the Richmond area on several occasions and decided to stay at a local B&B this time. Sean and Polly were very friendly and gracious hosts. They explained to us that their B&B was brand new and we were just the … read moresecond guests to stay. This historic home has great decor and a southern charm. It is located close to the museum district as well a trendy area called Carytown, which offers many great restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. We stayed in the Dream Suite, which had a very comfortable bed, and access to a small balcony that was great for relaxing in the late afternoons. Breakfast was served ala carte in a parlor-type setting just across from the suites. We had many options to choose from including fresh fruit, pastries, and a wide variety of coffee and teas. "The One" may be new, but we were very impressed with the accommodations and hospitality. We will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad-DoverPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Nicely appointed rooms. Excellent location. Private entrance, so you don't feel like you are intruding into someone's home. The breakfast is perfect!

Unfortunately the innkeeper does not make the beds, clean the bathroom, etc if you stay more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyagingGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
At The One we are constantly striving to provide our guests with the best hospitality possible. Based upon your feedback, we have added door tags to the guest rooms so our guests can indicate their preference during their visit: "Privacy Please" or "Please Service Room". We want to recognize some guests want complete privacy during their visit and some would prefer to have their room freshened. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.9 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,034 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,248 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
691 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
2.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One Bed and Breakfast

Property: The One Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 N Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23220-4301
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Of Richmond 2015! Enjoy all of the comforts of home on Richmond's historic Boulevard. In the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, The One is surrounded by some of the cities greatest attractions all within walking distance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing