We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Does the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It Does the Job”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First, let me say that finding a decent hotel in Richmond for a reasonable price isn't easy. I was attending an event at another hotel but it looked awful so I decided on this HIE instead. Very glad I did, although I absolutely HATE paying for parking.

Our room was big and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and breakfast was everything I needed (try the warm cinnamon rolls!). Breakfast ladies were friendly and on top of things. The area isn't the greatest, but I didn't feel unsafe either. The ladies working when I checked in and out were very friendly and helpful, as was our housekeeper. I wish it had been quieter (someone nearby blared the TV all night and there was a lot of door slamming and shouting) but that's more the fault of inconsiderate neighbors than a hotel issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schraderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear schraderj,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our rooms being clean and comfortable. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    97
    57
    19
    14
See reviews for
61
58
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Each year that we participate in the Monument Avenue 10K, my friends and I stay at this hotel (and book VERY early) so we have easy access to the event. We reserve a room with a hottub, which is GREAT after an event like that. The staff is courteous, the breakfast is just what you'd expect from HIEx - and my husband and I always chow down on the cinnamon buns. As IHG members, we always receive that little extra special something, which is nice. Parking is a bit scary - we have a small car, which is a huge plus in that space. The rooms on the very top floor had water damage the last time we went, but we've never noticed issues like that on the other floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Parking under the building was small. Had to remind from desk of our package deal, and priority club membership! Room was old and musty, air conditioner was loud and annoying--breakfast was spare and not very good - not a great neighborhood-- would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacycaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Stacycaryn,

Thank you for being an IHG Club Rewards member and for writing us a review. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the room conditions has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went to Richmond for a fulltime program at the Richmond Ballet. The sponsor obtained a discounted rate at the Holiday Inn Express. The facility was a walk of a few blocks from the hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room looked north; it was quiet. Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and handsoap were provided daily. A full breakfast including an egg dish, sausages or bacon, muffins, and gravy were served from 6:30 to 9:30 am daily. WiFi was free throughout the facility. A business center and a health facility were available for 24 hours daily. Parking in the underground garage costs $10 daily.

This is the second year when I have returned to this hotel for my weeklong program at the nearby Richmond Ballet. I plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19 face north away from the street. They are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColasBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Mountain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 8/16/13 - 8/18/13, the front desk people were helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was a good start to your day and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
This was our first visit to Richmond and the location of the hotel seemed to be in a business area so while there were plenty restaurants close by we did not find any shops in walking distance.
We enjoyed walking by the Canal Walk.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fochse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Holiday Inn is very clean, neat, centrally located, & more reasonably priced than others nearby. The staff was excellent & very helpful. The continental breakfast is decent, there is a very nice outside plaza to sit on while eating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was great location for my meetings in Richmond. The staff in the morning were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was great. I would recommend the hotel. The only issue I had was checking in. the young lady was spending more time talking on her personal cell phone then taking care of customers. I feel check in would have been faster.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#21 of 81 in Richmond
705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Property: Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Address: 201 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-3736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in downtown Richmond offers quality and convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wachovia Securities, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights include the Virginia Holocaust Museum, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in the heart of Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing