We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choices for Vegans”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carytown Cupcakes

Carytown Cupcakes
Ranked #7 of 24 Bakeries in Richmond
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great choices for Vegans”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I were spending the day exploring the Carytown district of Richmond and stumbled across Carytown Cupcakes. To our surprise, they do offer vegan varieties of cupcakes which is perfect for my daughter who suffers from multiple food allergies. They were incredibly friendly. The shop is so cute, and you can even watch bakers making cupcakes while you enjoy yours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenfwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yes Please!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Cupcakes make me smile! Who doesn't love cupcakes? Who wouldn't love a cannoli, peanut butter chocolate, lemoncello, or cookies and cream cupcake?
Go there.
Eat cupcakes.
Smile

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good, rich cupcakes”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stumbled across this bakery while on business in Richmond. I bought half a dozen for myself and then took a box for some workers. They were expensive, but very good. Half a dozen were $16 and a dozen were $29. They had flavors such as lavender, butterfinger, almond joy, red velvet, salted caramel. Delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GNRoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Dessert”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

As the name indicates, the only thing sold here are cupcakes, but very good, albeit expensive ones. They have a very wide selection of cupcakes to choose from, including gluten-free. The service was wonderful, the staff friendly, and the atmosphere fun. If you are in Carytown and want a cupcake, there is no better place to stop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I were exploring Carytown and came across this quaint little cupcake shop. It was very busy so we figured that it must be good! We got a lemon cupcake and a cookies n cream one (they were $2.75 each). Both were good but we preferred the lemon one. The only negative was that there was hardly any seating...but I suppose that is to be expected when they have limited space. We are definitely planning on going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carytown Cupcakes also viewed

 

Been to Carytown Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing