We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Visit”

Virginia Capitol Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Abraham Lincoln Foot-Steps Tour by Segway
Ranked #5 of 171 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the white, columned state capitol building, designed by Thomas Jefferson to resemble a first-century Roman temple in France, is the only sculpture of George Washington produced in his lifetime.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

On a recent weekend trip to Richmond, my experience at the Capitol was pretty much the highlight. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained. The visitors area inside has a lot of information on Richmond and Virginia history and the 1+ hour guided tour was fantastic. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly, outgoing and really made the experience great. Unlike a lot of tours these days, the Capitol tour is very relaxed. You can roam free throughout the building (the assembly was not in session), join and leave the tour when you want, sit in the chairs, take pictures etc. The building is beautiful, and the entire experience is free.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    200
    33
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great Richmond and National Landmark”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Richmond has much to offer in history, but is dwarfed by nearby Washington DC 100 miles away. Richmond along with Washington DC and Philadelphia (and maybe Boston) is all about early settlers and how America got started. This building is one of those great monuments that takes us back in time. Here lies the only one statue for which George Washington had posed before the sculpture r. A walk inside and outside this great building is a must for every Richmond visitor. I was only able to spend an hour but made a promised to myself to come back again and go through the full guided tour (free). Around this building many other historical building can be found. Some great paintings inside the building and nearby the governors house where 3 former presidents have lived

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mirza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My husband shares the name with the capital, so this was a must-see!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

After living with the same name as the VA capital for 65 years, my husband finally got there! With downtown construction, we had a bit of difficulty finding parking, but it was worth the search. The newly restored capitol building is beautiful and full of history, including the only full-sized statue of George Washington. We were not with a tour, but a lady at an info desk was happy to provide us with stories not heard on the tour about the filming of the movie "Lincoln." We did get in on part of the tour in the assembly room, and hearing about the mace and visit form the Queen of England was impressive. Don't be fooled by no outside dome--there is one, and it is beautiful!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful building filled with history”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

After admiring the outside of this classic capitol building, we decided to take the guided tour sort of on a whim. I am SO glad we did! As others mention, the tour was longer than an hour so be sure to allow time, but it was wonderful. Our tour guide was incredibly informative and did a marvelous job of walking us through the history of Virginia, the building, and the lives of important figures like Thomas Jefferson and Robert E. Lee. I'm not even that interested in history (or the Civil War) but was engaged and fascinated the whole time and left with a plethora of new knowledge. Plus, the building is just beautiful! I think it took us about two hours - to take the tour, visit the exhibits (and gift shop), and explore the grounds. Everything is free so I consider this a a must-see in Richmond!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mafels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
834 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Excellent History lesson”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I did the guided tour of this beautiful building and was very impressed by the knowledge of the guide. The length of the tour was adequate and neither too much or too little information was provided.
The history of Richmond and Virginia is fascinating and it's great to see it preserved so well in so many ways not only here but throughout the area.
The fairly recent addition of the underground walkway is impressive and allows for further preservation of the building.

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing