We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of boring” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar

American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
2-Hour Richmond Landmark Segway Tour
Ranked #19 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The American Civil War Museum is the nation's first museum to interpret the Civil War from Union, Confederate, and African American perspectives. Discover a new way of looking at our shared national history that explains much of who we are as Americans today through our signature exhibit, In the Cause of Liberty.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kind of boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

When we visited there were no other visitors...it was really kind of boring...some of the items were not in the cases--instead a note was there saying the item will be back later..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo23430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    76
    24
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“This was interesting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of hours touring this museum, which is also attached to a National Park Service site at the same location. You pay to see this one and the Park Service site in another building on the grounds is free.

If you have an interest in the Civil War and/or Richmond and the Tredegar Iron Works, this is a great place to stop. It has a variety of things on display and they attempt to give you the story from all angles, both north and south. They have interactive exhibits, films and classic displays. They do have some great pictures of what Richmond looked like before and after the fire.

Don't miss the Park Service building, it has some very interesting pieces. And be sure to get your parking pass validated at either building to save the cost of the parking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to gain some perspective.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The center presented the story of the civil war from three perspectives - the North, the South, and the slaves. I felt it provided a well-rounded, thought-provoking story which was told through a variet of media - written, video, and artifact.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VaTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good introduction to the Civil War”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am not from the US, so not that well-versed in the Civil War.

For me this was a very good and pedagogical overview of the causes, developments and aftermath of the Civil War. They have done a good job at making it both interesting for kids and adults. Good combination of exhibits, explanatory text and multimedia.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Civil War from a new perspective...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Don't miss it. A new look at Richmond's Civil War experiences that you won't forget. Plus, am excellent bookstore and gift shop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddyt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar also viewed

 

Been to American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing