We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect a long wait”

MOSAIC Restaurant Richmond
Reserve with OpenTable
MOSAIC Restaurant Richmond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cary Street Road
Description: Serving lunch and dinner daily as well as Sunday brunch. Full bar with extensive beer, specialty cocktail and wine list. Beautiful patio dining available when weather allows. Opened since 1994, our mission has been to effectively nourish body and soul while preserving the highest level of quality and value. The open kitchen and upscale atmosphere of eclectic world cuicine is designed to provide healthy fare in a casual, full service environment.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expect a long wait”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our first visit, for Burger & Brew Monday, impressed us enough that we went again later in the week with friends. Had a bit of a wait on Monday, but chalked that up to the late hour and busy tables. Turns out it could get worse.

Food: Top-notch, flavorful, hot, impressive presentation, and showing real flair from the chef. The burgers were surprisingly good, deeply seasoned to add some real zing. In our later visit, we enjoyed the Smoked Gouda Dip and pita chips, then waited – and waited – and waited - for our entrees. They were finally delivered over an hour after the appetizer, and while they were delicious, not really worth that time. Still, they had tender shrimp and perfectly cooked grits, a great seafood mac-n-cheese, and beef medallions with gouda cream sauce.

Service: Sub-par. While we waited so long for our dinner, the server avoided eye contact, did not refill drinks or bread baskets, energetically dodged all our attempts to find out when dinner might be served. A simple explanation that the kitchen was running behind would have sufficed, some indication that they cared about our presence. The kitchen is quite small, and likely unable to keep up with traffic on any busy nights.

Ambience: Trendy, full of university students and professors, very noisy. Small patio might be quieter, but it is close to two busy streets so there’s no guarantee of that.

Bottom line – Great food but, but given our long delay and lack of service, I don’t plan on going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    55
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Consistency, please???”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Mosaic has a lot of things going for it. Nice location, enticing menu, choice of outdoor dining or sleek interior, and comfortable seating. I had been there long ago, and then again twice recently. One recent visit was great; yesterday's adventure was so-so, and that's not what you want when you're taking friends who have never dined there. The appetizer that had been so fab on the previous visit was indifferently prepared and had cooled by the time it reached our table. Plus, NO SILVERWARE! C'mon, people, when you seat someone, how about taking a glance to be sure the table is ready??? That's a pretty basic duty. We were there during a slack time, so it wasn't like they were distracted by an abundance of patrons.
The restaurant has great potential, but needs a guiding hand from a caring owner or manager. Perhaps they are resting on their laurels. The food was pretty good, but fell short of the bar set on my other recent experience. Most diners expect consistency, especially in a food town where there are so many other options around the corner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“How to make a special day awful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'd never dined at the restaurant before, but had sampled the food at another event and found it delicious. I was really looking forward to a great outing.
We had reservations, and it was a special occasion.
We arrived a little early. We stood at the front door for quite a while, and when acknowledged, we were told to wait just a minute. In the meantime, at least 3 people checked the computer lay-out of the floor [there were empty tables] over and over, and conferred for so long, the middle-east peace process would be shorter... Finally, we were told our table was being cleaned. We saw another girl head to the left to clean a table. More waiting, more conferring. Then, we seated to the right.
At least 5 or more minutes went by before the waiter stopped by. Only to say hello apparently. We were not given the opportunity to order drinks. We did the next time he stopped by, and asked for water. Another 10 minutes later, our drinks arrived, no water. 5 minutes later, he came back to take our food order. We sat... chatted, and watched our waiter on other tables, and he seemed like he wasn't working effectively.
A young woman eventually arrived with food, didn't know who got what, asked if she could get us anything else...and left before we could answer. We needed salt, pepper, ketchup and SILVERWARE. We sat there like idiots, knowing our food would be cold before we could eat it. She was walking by when we asked for those items, which she brought, except for the ketchup.
And, still no water.
After our drinks were empty, and food half gone, the water swung by with water. No one asked if our food was good, or if we wanted another cocktail.
Now, for the food. The menu sounds good. My husband said his food was okay, nothing special. I thought mine was tasty enough and very creative. But the service was just not great... a young woman walked by and took a plate away [without asking, and it was not empty] and my husband's plate [he was not done]. We just looked at each other like...WHAT? The check arrived and THEN the waiter asked if we wanted dessert. Nope!

So, you can expect good to pretty good, creative choices here. Don't expect great service, and you'll be pleased.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schimmelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ENERGETIC AND EXCELLENT”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just had dinner at Mosaic in Richmond. Very "hip" place. Lots of energy, great service and the food is terrific. Lots of different but interesting menu choices. I had the chicken/ Gorgonzola chopped salad with bleu cheese balsamic dressing with walnuts, spinach, lettuce, carrots, onions.
It was OUTSTANDING!!
The place was jammed at 6:45pm with good, soft rock background music and a very pleasant waitstaff. I highly recommend it and I will always return when I'm in Richmond.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went here on a cold and rainy afternoon looking for a comfort type meal. We got it. A tasty hot soup and fresh salad combo for me and a warm and gooey toasted sandwich for the hubby, all delicious.
On this day, it was not overly crowed, mainly a mixture of couples and small groups. Our other visits there during the week day lunch time, a number of ladies out for lunch frequent the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOSAIC Restaurant Richmond also viewed

 

Been to MOSAIC Restaurant Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing