We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant in Carytown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Water Coastal Kitchen - CLOSED

Water Coastal Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Crenshaw
Description: Located in the heart of Carytown the Water Grill is the newest restaurant of the Richmond Restaurant Goup which operates some of Richmond’s best known restaurants The Hard Shell, The Hill Café, Delux Café and Lounge and Europa Italian Café and Tapas Bar. The Water Grill Specializes in Fresh Local and Regional Seafood, Had Cut Steaks Chops and Ribs as well as a Full Raw Bar featuring Oysters, Clams, Mussels, Crab Legs, Shrimp and Lobster. The Water Grill has a big city feel and beautiful décor with multiple levels of exposed brick, cozy fire place, private rooms, multiple bars, water features and one of Richmond best outdoor patios. The Water Grills private rooms can accommodate seated parties and cocktail parties from 10-100 people. The Water Grill is only 5 minutes from downtown Richmond, has convenient parking and accepts reservations for parties of all sizes. Also, make your reservations online at www.thewatergrill.com
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant in Carytown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Water Grill is a wonderful restaurant in the heart of Carytown. Great outdoor seating, wonderful seafood and fabulous menu! Highly recommend if you are visiting Richmond, VA

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    24
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in RVA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is my absolute favorite restaurant in Richmond. I love seafood and they're seafood is always fresh and creatively prepared. I dream of their blackened mahi mahi with coconut risotto...it's fantastic. The risotto is so creamy and flavorful and the blackened mahi mahi offers a nice balance. Also wonderful here: the fried green tomatoes, the calamari (great dipping sauces) and the raw oysters are always fresh. Make a reservation, it gets crowded. Located in the heart of Carytown so cute, fun area to walk around and then head to dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDiva76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large portions, fair prices, solid casual dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently were looking for a seafood restaurant in Richmond and decided to try The Water Grill. We stopped in for lunch. I tried the Oysters on the half shell, which were adequate. My wife had a caesar salad with calamari that was tasty and huge. My sandwich was very good. The server was friendly and responsive. The only thing that I disliked was the music in the restaurant. Someone must be a big Michael Jackson fan or they had on the Michael Jackson channel on as every song was one of his.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyrdestroyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couples Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We actually ate at The Water Grill to book the venue for a party later in the month.
The food was excellent, service was good, parking on the street proved difficult but we found a spot, this is not there fault but the design of the Carytown.
Regretfully they lost power the day of our event and we were moved to a sister resturant before calling me they had the new location booked, so all we had to do was call the guests.
I would book again if the need comes up, but 30th wedding anniversaries only come around once.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Because09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I met a friend for Sunday brunch. She had made reservations in advance, which I would recommend.
The service was excellent, just the right amount of attention while letting us catch up and chat. I had the crab cake sandwich, very flavorful and full of crab meat. Their fries are excellent - freshly made.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloryjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing