We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old friend in a new style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An old friend in a new style”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been a long-time friend of Hampton Inn and Suites--my first choice when traveling. This was my first stay at the Glenside Inn. It is a new facility with modern decor and appearance. I was struck by the bold colors used throughout the hotel and the modern style furniture. It had the first rate service I've come to expect of Hampton Inns. AARP rates were good and the location, while a few miles from downtown Richmond, was not problematic as it is very close to I 64. There are a variety of restaurant choices close-by for lunch and evening meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThProfessah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    149
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
233
148
45
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived at midnight with my daughter for a visit to see the University of Richmond and the hotel I had planned to stay at that had an available room at 10:30pm was now booked. The desk clerk suggested I try the Hampton Inn which had just opened 6 months prior. Lucky for us they had a room and I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The hotel was spotless, including our room and bathroom. The woman at the front desk was sooo pleasant and welcoming even though it was late at night. The bed was also comfortable. Breakfast offerings were typical for what you find in a free buffet. I have no complaints. If my daughter lands up going to the University of Richmond this will definitely be the hotel I stay at when in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent three days at this Hampton Inn, and was well treated. The front desk was helpful, and the room comfortable. There were a few minor maintenance issues, which I let the front desk know about when I left. The breakfast was a bit above most Hampton Inns, and I enjoyed it each morning. If I return to Richmond on business, this inn will be high on my stay list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In search of a Hilton-affiliated property, we ducked into this newish-hotel without a reservation during Hurricane Sandy. Good luck for us; this hotel is sleek, modern, and ultra comfortable. Luxury, no, but solid business efficiency. Clean, clean, clean. Excellent a/c and extraordinarily comfortable beds.

Like most hotels at this price point, the bathrooms are furnished spartanly—bring your own shower hat, and don’t expect thick towels—but the room has a large fridge and microwave tucked discreetly in a corner, and big flat-screen TVs. Loads of hot water. Our room had no tub, just a big shower.

Everything at this hotel worked. Polite, friendly experience checking in and out from the young gentlemen manning the desk. Request for extra pillows cheerfully met. A decent breakfast bar with good coffee. All in all, an excellent stay and outstanding value for the money. We had just come from the Ritz, and I can tell you the beds were better here, and the service was just as good.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a quiet spot and the elevators were silent. I can't imagine there's a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here in August. Good location for our needs. Clean hotel. Beds comfortable. Efficient check in. Breakfast was adequate. Plenty of parking. No complaints. Would probably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is quite new and quite clean, but I can't say we enjoyed our stay.
It started at the front desk. We reserved a disability room (knowing from the other stays at Hampton that there are some located away from an elevator). The clerk gave us the room right next to it and when we addressed this issue assured us that ALL disability rooms are close to elevators. OK we said then give us a standard room away from the elevator. She gives us standard room right next to the elevator second time. It took 3 attempts to get a room away from the elevator and when we finally got it we so the disable room sign right at the door of the room across our door. OK we thought, might be that room is occupied and that's why she couldn't give it to us but why lay about it? During all our stay surprisingly we didn't here a beep from that door, though we heard some noises from the others, which convinced us in opposite. She just didn't want to accommodate our request. The other reasons we'll never stay in this hotel again are:
a) the POOR breakfast they serve (we stay at Hamptons a lot and this was the WORST from all) and b) the poor maintenance of the property (the toilet seat was shaky, the door stop at the bathroom was missing and so on).
So hotel is new but the management is bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyatachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear pyatachok:
At our hotel, he specific type of room you initially requested in an accessable version are all located immediately off the elevator as a courtesy to those in wheelchairs or otherwise in need of this room type. The disabled room across from yours was, in fact unavailable during your stay, and did not meet your reservation requirements based on bed type, I am sorry our attempt to offter you convenience without the long walk fell short, and am glad you were happy with the room you ended up in. The Hampton brand standards require us to serve very specific items, which are the same in every Hampton branded hotel across the nation. having said that, we are currently "tweaking" where we can, creating new combinations of existing items, adding fruit topping for our waffles, etc.. Your comments about the room are greatly appreciated, as we are entering our busy season we are are going room by room looking for issues just like you mentioned and making repairs when necessary,. Your loyalty of the Hampton brand is appreciated - and it is our hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stay there frequently for business, and it's always very nice. The staff is very friendly, professional and knowledgeable, including Andre, Yen and Antuan, and many others whose names I don't know. Housekeeping staff is great as well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
7.0 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.0 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
6.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Address: 5406 Glenside Dr, Richmond, VA 23228-3915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the metro Richmond Virginia region, the Hampton Inn and Suites Richmond/Glenside hotel offers easy access to popular cultural, sporting and entertainment attractions. Spend a day at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts or the Museum of the Confederacy- all within five miles of our Richmond, VA hotel. Enjoy boating, canoeing, water skiing and fishing at the James and Appomattox rivers or thrilling rides at the Kings Dominion theme park. View exciting races at Richmond International Raceway or enjoy an extensive shopping experience at Stony Point Fashion Park.Unwind at the Hampton Inn and Suites Richmond/Glenside hotel with everything you need for a great stay. Relax in a comfortable guest room complete with thoughtful amenities to help make you feel at home. Enjoy over sixty high-def channels on a 37-inch flat screen HD TV. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and enjoy a restful sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Upgrade to a spacious suite and stretch out and relax on a king-size bed. Start the day right and join us for a Hampton’s free hot breakfast or have breakfast on the move and grab one of our Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday. Stay active during your stay in the fitness center or rejuvenate with a swim in the pool. Keep in touch with work in the business center and hold your next meeting in our corporate meeting and training facility accommodating up to 80 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Richmond/Glenside
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing