We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Italian Water Ice and Frozen Custard

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ray's Italian Water Ice and Frozen Custard
Ranked #29 of 43 Dessert in Richmond
Restaurant details
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
224 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Ray's for several years now, and there is no doubt in my mind that it is the best ice cream to be found in Richmond. The frozen custard is rich and far better than normal ice cream. I have been to other frozen custard places where they only have hard frozen custard, but at Ray's you can get the frozen custard in a soft serve. The Italian water ice mixes very well with the custard into great treats like the Rocket and the Freezie. The portions are always generous, and the prices are very reasonable. The staff are friendly and efficient, and there is rarely a long line. Do yourself a favor and check out Ray's when you're in Richmond. You'll be glad that you did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The custard is wonderful-be creative and order a frozen one-so many to choose from. I had the chocolate custard with brownies and walnuts and it was incrediable!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lawssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Addictive & Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've been going to Rays for years and LOVE IT! The price points are good, the frozen custard is extremely delicious (& probably not diet-friendly) And portions generous! The shop is run by a family team... Husband, wife and son. Regrettably the husband is the least friendly - but I don't go there for him. His wife is much friendlier and willing to make special request accommodations. The son is the friendliest, and the kids all seem to think he's pretty cool. He too is willing to accommodate special requests, and happily makes suggestions. So many flavors, so many calories! ;)

Favorites: Grasshopper custard, Cookie Dough Ice Cream, Hot fudge sundae with bananas, and the "black & white" shake.

Good To Know: Ray's utilizes the new Square technology for credit cards, and even supports the Square Tab feature - very convenient if you forgot the wallet at home. Rays also has a very good rewards card for frequent customers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LH429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Italian Ice is good, but the owners attitude is horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been coming here every summer since he opened up the stand, and every time I come he has a terrible attitude. I thought at first it was that he works alone most of the time, and he's usually pretty busy, but that's still no excuse to not be courteous to your customers. At first I thought it was me, but my husband feels the same way about his nasty attitude. His product is great, but his customer service SUCKS!! I won't be back next summer. I'll just go down the street to tropical smoothie.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colemanlatisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best place for your sweet tooth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years. The service is great, sweet treats are amazing, and portions are very generous. Last visit I had a chocolate dipped cone, yummy! The water ice is always great and so are the hand dipped custards. I love this place dearly!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ravenrapunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Italian Water Ice and Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Italian Water Ice and Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing