We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!”
Review of The Black Sheep

The Black Sheep
Ranked #39 of 1,606 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Creative menu, affordable, excellent food & service; small room and doesn't accept reservations, does not seat parties until everyone has arrived. We love it! PSPerfect chicken liver sub or salad!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SLKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    64
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“"Those sandwiches aren't subs, they're battleships"”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic experience at The Black Sheep. They have an interesting, eclectic, nontraditional menu including a list of sandwiches that are so tasty and huge that they call them battleships for good reason. The first time you see one of the large size (18-inch) monsters delivered on a cutting board to a nearby table, you will think "What is That?? And what do I need to do to get one?? The brussels sprouts salad was so good that we made a list of the ingredients and will be making it at home (or at least trying...) Everything was fresh and tasty. We have to go back to try other things on the menu and for dessert sometime. Don't be put off by the parking (which can be tricky in that area) or by the wait for a table (relax and enjoy a drink in the outdoor patio area behind the restaurant.) Definitely a five-star meal and experience. We will be back to sink a different battleship and do some damage to the desserts.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Neat Experience and Good Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant is located in a Richmond neighborhood near VCU's campus. The parking in the area was a little tricky but the food was well worth it. I had the CSS Virginia and my wife had the USS Wabash. Both were very good and the Brussels Sprout side was delicious as well. The atmosphere was cool and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASH, DC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Trying a Fan popular place may not have been all great”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have had 2 visits to this restaurant.First visit was a Sunday afternoon and the wait was 45 min. Parking was challenging on Sunday but the second visit was for dinner on a weekday night and we had no problem parking in front. Food was very good but not everything on the menu. You have to know what is good here. Seafood and mornay sauce hot sandwich was so terribly bland that we gave up and pushed it aside on 2 separate visits. Tofu sandwich was good but there is a lot of bread compared to filling like most sandwiches. Bread is fabulously, crusty on the outside and soft and chewy inside.
I would not return to this establishment however for 2 reasons: On the last visit the dining room was so terribly filthy and unkept. We had webs and insects hanging above us, little fruit nats and flies flying around our heads and all around our food and drinks and when one of my dining guests requested a container for her leftover sandwich the burly and impossibly unfriendly waitress would not let the guest put the remains in the container herself. The guest had to wrestle the container and her plate from the waitress and demand to put her own food in there. Crazy! This place may be popular with the VCU crowd but it is not clean or friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

For a Sunday brunch expect to wait for 25-40 minutes, but in their pleasant back yard with some refreshments of your choice. Once inside the food was really great and innovative-well worth the wait!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank billwa506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Sheep also viewed

 

Been to The Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing