We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel is exceptional - the staff is outstanding and very friendly! The restaurant is wonderful and the service impeccable...for dinner.

Breakfast is abominable and you should avoid it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzy4257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear bizzy4257,

Thank you for your review and high rating! We love your detailed comments regarding the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa and its "outstanding and very friendly" Staff. All of us work hard to earn your business and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

I attended my 31st college reunion which was held this past April. I attended VCU which is in downtown Richmond. This hotel was quite far from campus but the area has been well built since I last was there. There is plenty of shopping along the strip on West Broad St which is adjacent to the hotel. The rooms are nice and the bathroom was spacious with granite table tops.I did take a swim in the pool and hot tub which was very refreshing. I particularly like the 42" TV in the room so I could watch SportsCenter which is always a must. With many bars and restaurants located close by I had to eat at Shula's at least once. Talking about a good S-T-E-A-K. Wow !!!
We had our reunion dance and Sunday Breakfast in one of several partitioned meeting rooms. They were decorated nice and we had plenty of room.
My only complaint was shotty cellphone service. Everyone was having dropped calls regardless of there carrier. I did address that to management staff. So hopefully next year when I come it will be taken care of.
All in all, I really relished my reunion at this hotel and the staff made me feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALPHA06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear ALPHA06,

Very thankful to be the host to your 31st College Reunion and that you chose to stay with us.

I , along with my staff are thrilled that we were able to make this event a "memoreable one"

I hope that your travel plans from New York will bring you back to Richmond and the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa so that new wonderful memories can be created.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I got great service as soon as we got to the door it was a beautiful scene to walk into,, the greeters were excellent and helpful , the hotel clerk that checked us in was very friendly ,, wow I had never stayed in a hotel that even looked like this. The pictures on the net dont do no justice in person it was breath taking ,, We will come back again on our anniversary again . The room was very nice .. only thing i didnt do my research i did wanted a jacuzzi tub not stand up shower but other than that we had fun anyway ,,, loved it ,,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel "breathtaking" and our staff courteous. We are very proud of our hotel and the team that work here day in and day out. And to hear your feedback speaking so positively about the hotel and team, makes us proud. I also wanted to mention that we do have a jacuzzi tub in our Executive Suite that you can certainly book for your next anniversary. We hope to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Your staff is fabulous! From the front desk, and especially the shuttle driver made our stay very restful. A very well run hotel. Near the mall, and lots of restaurants. We will stay with you again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginiatraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We agree with you that we have a "great staff" and are pleased that we served your family well. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed this past week for 3 nights at the Hilton Richmond/Short Pump. We stayed because we were dropping off our daughter at the University of Richmond for her freshman year. We chose this property for a few reasons - 1. We are Hilton HHonors Silver VIP. 2. The rate was INCREDIBLE ($102 with full buffet breakfast) 3. Free internet in room. 4. New. The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby is large and very grand. There are HP TouchSmart computers with free internet access too, which was very nice. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and courteous. They even found and returned my Mac laptop that I left in the lounge! The room wasfancy. The beds were nice, the TV was big and HD, and the bathroom wasfancy (granite countertops, new sink fixtures, etc.). Breakfast every morning at the buffet in Shula's was very good. The service was excellent, the food all tasted good, and the options were plentiful. So why did I only give this a 3? Here's why:
1. The maid service was lacking. They never gave us enough towels, never replenished soap, toilet paper, shampoo, etc. They also never gave enough coffee for the in room coffee maker every morning (enough for 1 small cup only). Not a huge deal, but still.
2. The location was a big minus. The area (Short Pump/Glen Allen) is EXTREMELY upscale (fancy outdoor mall, nice restaurants, shops, etc.) The hotel is right off West Broad Street, which is very built up. So the area was lovely, but the hotel is SOOOO out of the way. It was a 20 minute drive to the University and upwards of half an hour to downtown. THAT'S FAR! It may not sound bad, if you are shuttling back and forth from downtown/the college to downtown, it's annoying. Again, this isn't the hotel's fault, but it's still a big drawback. I saw shuttles at the hotel, but I don't know where they went (airport, downtown??). So if you are interested in being close to the university, downtown, monument avenue, carytown, etc....
Don't stay here!!!!!

Would I recommend this to a friend? Well, location aside, yes. With proximity to the university and downtown, probably not......

So the Hilton Richmond is a great choice if you want an upscale hotel with a small price tag, but be wary of the out of the way location.

I would like to tell you all that there is a brand new Hampton Inn that JUST OPENED off West Broad Street in a nice area, and 5 minutes to downtown and the University (that's a big difference). It's very nice and a good price! There's still high speed internet, upscale rooms, great service, and also free breakfast! I'm staying there next time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wizards119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. I am excited to hear that you found the hotel a beautiful facility with a "friendly and courteous" staff. We are very proud of our Shula's Steak House and are glad you enjoyed that as well. I understand that our location may not be exactly where you would like to be but we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Beautiful hotel and location!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Glenn0915,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us. Come back soon so we can make some new memories for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in late July 2010. It is located on a major east/west corridor that runs through Richmond (it's about a 25 minute drive from downtown) in what appears to be an upper middle-class suburb. It's easy to find with quick access to freeways; it was ideally suited to our purpose of using it as a "base" from which to drive to various local attractions and historical sites (including downtown Richmond). The hotel is located in a suburban mall shopping district, with many chain and independent restaurants, grocery stores, big box stores and boutique shopping within a 5 minute car ride. This is not a pedestrian-friendly area - suburban sprawl makes walking impractical - but the area is safe.

It's a newer hotel, and we found it clean and quiet. Employees were friendly and helpful. Our room was and modern and large, with a large bathroom and a huge shower. We were pleasantly surprised to find our toiletries cleaned and arranged for us each day when we returned to our room in the evening. The room has a flat-screen TV with standard hotel TV offerings. The free wireless (with a strong signal) was another pleasant surprise.

We didn't try the steakhouse restaurant but we did appreciate the small coffee shop in the lobby. We understand there was a swimming pool: you could smell the chlorine in the lobby.

One minor quibble: it was difficult finding parking. There was a wedding reception when we were staying there, which probably has something to do with it, and we did always end up finding a (free) spot, but we did have to hunt and circle the lot to find one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StocktonToMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear StocktonToMalone,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is one of our best features that we are conveniently located so it is easy to get to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. Our goal is always to exceed your expectations and it's such a delight for us to go above and beyond for our guests. It's wonderful that you experienced the genuine hospitality that we strive for with all of our guests. We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 82 in Richmond
878 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
760 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
13.6 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Address: 12042 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23233-7689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Spa Hotel in Richmond
#2 Green Hotel in Richmond
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $143 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa/Short Pump is an upscale hotel nestled in the heart of the prominent Short Pump area of Richmond. The hotel features 254 rooms & suites and 23,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space. With Aura Spa and Salon and Shula's America's Steak House, guests are treated to the best options in Richmond. Each of our 254 guestrooms and suites are tastefully appointed to accommodate travelers looking for comfort and functionality. From spacious workspaces with ergonomic chairs to the 42-inch high definition televisions to the Hilton Serenity Bed Package(R), guests will find a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Richmond Hotel And Spa / Short Pump

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing