We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Surprisingly Classy”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding (which was held off-site). We normally prefer smaller, more intimate hotels, but this was where the room block was. We were pleasantly surprised! The staff was very welcoming, even at the late hour at which we arrived, and the property was really nicely done. Our room was BIG and quite luxurious, and there was a great "feel" to the place. Everything seemed neat, crisp, clean and very modern.

The fitness center left a lot to be desired (really small, sort of jammed in an odd-shaped room next to the spa) and the lobby coffee shop seemed to keep very unpredictable hours. It was not open at all on Friday, and only for a few hours very early Saturday morning. By 10:30, they were closed. ?? In lieu of sandwiches or pastries, the cafe seemed to be selling frozen Lean Cuisine, which was extremely strange, especially taking the timing into account. Fortunately the Short Pump mall is just a short walk/drive from the property, so decent coffee can (and probably should!) be found elsewhere.

The breakfast bar in the lobby restaurant, however, was exceptional. Omelets made to order, fresh French Toast, etc. The bride and groom hosted a big breakfast for us the morning after, so I can't speak to the price or value ... but it was quite delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinem818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel. We hope to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    218
    67
    25
    15
See reviews for
228
222
43
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This may be a great hotel for business travelers but the weekend experience was not good at all.
My husband and I were in Richmond for a wedding last weekend. We checked in Friday afternoon. I called the spa/salon immediately as I wanted a hair appt. for the next morning. I was told that they would reach the "tecnician" and get back to me soon. They never called back. I called the next morning, several times, and got no answer at all.
Sunday morning---went to the executive lounge to see if they had coffee and rolls. Nothing---the place was a mess, dirty dishes and trash everywhere. Went down to the coffee shop and managed to buy a couple of borderline stale rolls and coffee.
The staff that everyone raves about was fairly friendly but the only really good service we received was from Aquila who works in the restaurant.
Might stay here again if we are in town during the week---no weekends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. While not knowing the details surrounding this circumstance, we do encourage guests to schedule appointments in advance as the books can quickly fill up, especially on a weekend. We also encourage guests to always leave a voicemail for our front desk staff so that they can return calls promptly, if this did not occur in your situation I do sincerely apologize as our goal is to accommodate guest's requests to the best of our abilities. I invite you to contact me directly during your next visit with us and I will ensure your appointment is handled properly in the future. We do hope to have the opportunity to see you at Aura Spa then.

Best Regards,

Mary Pilch, Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and it was a very good experience from the time we checked in through to checkout. We enjoyed the location, the room, the lobby bar and room service. The service and staff are exceptional and food in the lobby bar and the room were very well presented and delivered in a timely fashion. What is amazing is that they actually allow pets in such a plush hotel; we did not encounter any pets while we were there. Would recommend this hotel if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tczop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are very pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works very hard and we are all very proud of the hotel and the service we provide. We hope you will choose us again when your travels bring you back to Richmond.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions for work. Always great service & the high quality I expect from Hilton. It is near all the nice stuff in Richmond and I love it's convenience. It is in the best part of town with the best shopping, restaurants, etc. I always look forward to going here for work!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for being such a loyal guest to the hotel. We are so pleased you have found a home away from home. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
341 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I must begin by stating that the hotel staff have provided the best customer service experience I have witnessed/experienced in quite some time. Al, the young man who checked me in was efficient, extremely polite, and very professional. From where I stood, he appeared to be the same with the gentleman who checked in ahead of me.

The room was immaculate, well appointed, and extremely comfortable.

Even when I checked out, the staff were extremely courteous and everyone gave me the impression that I was in fact a welcome guest.

Free WiFi was a plus as many full service hotels still charge and room service is available around the clock, not just ending at 1 or 2 am like many other hotels. The location was directly off the Interstate and the hotel was located in an area with many, many retail and restaurant options, many of which were in walking distance.

For my next trip to the area, I will definitely seek out reservations here first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinasunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
What wonderful praise of your experience at the Hilton! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will stay with us again on future trips to the Richmond area.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

One of cleanest and neatest hotels I've ever stayed at. Service is outstanding. Arrived on a very hot afternoon and was greeted at the door with a chilled, herbal towel. Great touch. Every employee made it a point to speak to me, even if we were just passing by each other. Rooms were very clean and well designed.

Room Tip: Check out the huge business suite on the eighth floor. Really spacious and loaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so proud of our team and pleased that enjoyed the service you experienced during your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beautiful Hotel! Quick and easy check in desk people all smiles. Great room comfey bed slept like a baby!! Staff at Shula 's was great!! we will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I agree with you that our beds are so comfortable that I went out and bought one for me personally. I'm glad you got the opportunity to enjoy Shula's and the service provided by our team throughout the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
12.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.6 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Property: Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Address: 12042 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23233-7689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#1 Spa Hotel in Richmond
#2 Green Hotel in Richmond
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa/Short Pump is an upscale hotel nestled in the heart of the prominent Short Pump area of Richmond. The hotel features 254 rooms & suites and 23,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space. With Aura Spa and Salon and Shula's America's Steak House, guests are treated to the best options in Richmond. Each of our 254 guestrooms and suites are tastefully appointed to accommodate travelers looking for comfort and functionality. From spacious workspaces with ergonomic chairs to the 42-inch high definition televisions to the Hilton Serenity Bed Package(R), guests will find a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Richmond Hotel And Spa / Short Pump

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing