We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable experience; excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We picked this hotel because it offered a promotional discount for families attending the VCU Open House. My son and I were thrilled with all the amenities included. Every single staff member was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The complimentary breakfast was awesome as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank MomfromFarmingDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us and found the location convenient for your needs. Please do come back and visit us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Richmond South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 417 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you're traveling on 95 and need a convenient place to stop, this is it. The rooms are acceptable, but of course you hear the highway. Richmond, if you haven't been there, is a pleasant city to visit with some interesting history.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us and found the location convenient for your needs.Hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My stay was very pleasurable. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. My bed was comfy and the room was very clean and modern. I am very picky about bathrooms and these bathrooms were extremely clean and also modern. The food was your average complimentary food and the coffee was great. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor about your recent experience at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the service and breakfast layout at the hotel. Please do come back and visit us again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Hampton staff at the Richmond, VA location is very pleasant and helpful. They made sure that my stay was to my satisfaction. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to friends and business associates

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 297kennethjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!!!
We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Easy access from Highway. Only concern is nearby restaurants. There was a Subway next door, but no place for sit down dinner except across the street at a Grill in the Holiday Inn, and the Hampton Inn Staff indicated they had received mixed reviews on that facility

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback as it is extremely important to us.
We certainly understand the inconvenience of not having too many options for restaurants in the vicinity however we do have some local favorite options that have recently emerged and have become extremely popular for their outstanding menu options and focused service. We will be glad to explore those with you on your next visit with us in town!!! See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a typically clean, comfortable Hampton Inn. The staff is great: always friendly, always willing to help. Stay here if you don't plan to leave the hotel and are just looking for a good night's rest. DON'T stay here if you're wanting a place with handy restaurants/bars/anything else. This property is in an industrial part of town (right across from the massive Philip Morris Cigarette Plant) and not near any amenities. There is a Subway next door and a HORRIBLE restaurant in the Holiday Inn across the street, but that's it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank stbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback as it is extremely important to us and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very accommodating. They were there to answer any questions or issues with transportation! There was a woman, serving breakfast. I was unable to eat the egg dish so she prepared a dish I could eat. Thank You so very much!! The staff, came to our table to let us know our taxi was there to take my co-worker and I to the airport. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank whistand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!
Thanks once again for your kind words of appreciation for the team members as they appreciate it a lot and will always look forward to welcome you back as our loyal guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $132 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing