We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh the noise, noise, noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oh the noise, noise, noise!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of the nicer Hampton Inns, but a parade of semis went to and fro in front of hotel all night long. It was like trying to sleep on a runway. Avoid this property if you want to sleep.
The room was lovely with a nice king bed. Asked for TV remote as ours wasn't working. It never came.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank hpeep54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello,

Your comment is very crucial to our making every necessary effect changes to benefit our guests.I am very sorry about the unfavorable experience during your recent stay and will make sure that such matter never occur in the future.I hope you will find a place in your heart to forgive us and give us another chance to make it right.Please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    113
    46
    30
    22
See reviews for
144
81
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here one night on November 9th as a participant in the Richmond Marathon. The road noise was not a huge issue for me, as I always travel with ear plugs. The room was very clean and had wireless Internet, a TV, but mostly importantly, a fridge. The staff was very accommodating and granted me a late checkout the next day. I did not sample the coffee or other breakfast items or partake in the gym, as my stay was very brief. But I did enjoy the comfort of the room, the proximity to downtown Richmond (about 7 miles/15 minutes), and the low room rate. There is also a Subway right next door if you need a quick snack. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are very honored to hear about your kind words to our staff..It is very rare to hear from a happy guest.Always remember this,we love having you here at Hampton Inn,Richmond south.We enjoyed your group.You guys are great guests.Please come back again and again.

Prince Clement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The facilities are in good condition. A room at the rear side of the building is subject to the never ending traffic noise on i95. If you can tolorate the noise, this facility is OK. Make sure to get a room at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It was good noting that you enjoyed the hotel but unfortunately the road noise was a problem.I am very sad to hear that.I hope to have another opportunity to serve you better during your next visit to us.We love having you here.

Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a new Hampton and was very clean. The beds were very comfortable, staff was very helpful and the morning breakfast was good.

All this being said, it is a Hampton that we are likely not to reserve again should we ever be in Richmond again. It is sandwiched between I95 and a 4 lane industrial highway. The noise is terrible with the dump trucks and semi trucks on the industrial side. There is no way to sleep with the noise that comes from the road. We also experienced other problems in our room. We were in room 312 and had the following problems: there is a vent fan located in the bathroom in the ceiling that was blowing cool air which could not be turned off by a switch (it should be noted there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom); the bathroom door would only close halfway because the bottom of the door was touching the tile floor and that door needed to be shortened; the room door would not close tightly and the throw bolt for the dead bolt would not engage into the frame; that same door had a very narrow clearance at the bottom approximately 3/8 " inch above the carpeted floor and as a result it caused a whistling sound from the outside hallway when the motel air conditioning was running; to stop the whistling sound we placed damp towels on the floor up against the bottom of the door; the curtains could not be closed (except for the sheer curtains) to block out the street lights.

With all of this being said, I talked with an assistant manager (Raffele) and let him know of our problems. When we returned home, the general manager phoned our house and satisfactorily made things right regarding our stay. He was very pleasant and understanding regarding our complaints.

Room Tip: It will be a toss up because of the location of the hotel, but the interstate side has to be somewha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you are satisfied with the quick response in handling your complaints.I want to assure you that we care and will always.I hope you come back for future visits.In the next few days ,you will receive your full 100 % refund.Once again,I am very sorry about your experiences.Every effort has been made to rectify the issues.We love having you here.

Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
284 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This Hampton Inn is very attractive and staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was disappointing because there was no lounging chair in the room and it was extremely small. The road noise was very disturbing so we did not enjoy a good night of sleep. We could hear the people in the hallway and the trucks on the road in front of the hotel made a terrible vibration due to the grid on the highway. Breakfast was nicely served and quite adequate. We cannot say that this is a Hampton we would select on another trip to Richmond.

Room Tip: Select a room on the Interstate side of hotel so that you don't hear the trucks on the road in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am very sad to hear about the road noise.I hope you give us another chance to change your room direction.Please come back.We love having you here at Hampton Inn,Richmond south.

Clement Mba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here for a number of nights and had a great time. Service was awesome. Rooms clean. The employee who takes care of the restaurant area (sorry, did not catch her name) was always a ray of sunshine! Jeff at front desk was especially helpful.

There was some noise, but what would you expect from a hotel that is near the highway? I could hear the road when awake, but it did not stop me from sleeping. The person I was with said she slept better at the hotel than at home.

Food is not right across the street, but tons of options if you are willing to drive 20-25 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Painlesstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are very delighted to have you as our guest.We love having you here at Hampton Inn Richmond south.


Prince Mba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Really impressed with how clean and well kept hotel was.The hotel was full, but there was always enough at the breakfast buffet. The woman who took care of it was super nice and was always cleaning and making sure everybody had what they needed. . If you forget your razor, toothbrush or shaving cream-call the desk, they will supply it for you(That really surprised me)Raphael was supposed to fix our bill, as we were not charged the right rate-check your bill. Someone said it would be noisy being off of 95, we had no problem. There is also a small pool, small business center with 2 computers and exercise room. Rooms also have a microwave and fridge. Coffee is always available, Would stay again if in the area.Desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for your recent stay and we are looking forward to meeting you and your beautiful family again.You did mention about somekind of adjustment.Please let me know when next you are in our hotel to take care of the necessary adjustment for you.Thanks again for the opportunity to serve you and your family.

Prince Mba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Property: Hampton Inn Richmond South
Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing