We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nothing like it!

We weren’t impressed with the style but were very glad we stopped by to check it out on a weekend... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
NanaMarlin
,
Lakeland, Florida
Truly interesting aluminum clad building

Supposedly inspired by a baked potato wrapped n tin foil, this is a very unusual building. It is... read more

Reviewed February 27, 2018
Chinapjs
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 11 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Richmond
from $53.99
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
5
3
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
3
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We weren’t impressed with the style but were very glad we stopped by to check it out on a weekend when parking was not an object. If you are in the area it is worth a visit. We did not go inside the building which is constructed of 3 continuous sheets of aluminum, each as long as the Washington Monument height. That’s pretty amazing in itself.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank NanaMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Supposedly inspired by a baked potato wrapped n tin foil, this is a very unusual building. It is three stories and each ne is clad in a single sheet of aluminum. Each sheet is 555 feet long. Especially interesting in bright sunlight. Some people think it looks like a giant flying saucer.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Chinapjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Great place to have an office and icon in the community and with convenient parking and nearby financial and dining establishments you can't go wrong.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank PAUL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2014

i remember the guy (haigh jamgosian) swinging the sledge hammer. strange and imaginative fella. it was like seeing an alien back then when the building was completed. right next to it was the "paper clip" building.
when the markels originally built this, it was exotic and unique. being "in the round" with parking underneath, it was an interesting place to visit and do business. markel was in the risk business and the building exemplified that attitude. on the other hand , it was also named one of the ugliest buildings in the world. i never thought so. it was the "reynolds wrap building".
today, it's just as unique as ever. the inside is quite dated though, the elevator crawls, parking underneath is tight. i still like the building.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank mathewskemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I barely remember this building, but I should.
One of the things that people notice about this office is not how much it resembles the Guggenheim Museum but the materials covering it.
But for me, that's no surprise. My father worked for years making aluminum foil for Reynolds Metals. Their headquarters was further down Broad street. Another piece of local architecture you may also want to check out. It's a wonder there wasn't more structures made this way.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank thegreatunknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews