We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but beds were a little hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is one of the cheapest ones in Richmond' West End; however, just because it's cheap, it doesn't mean that the amenities or service are. They offer free wifi and free full breakfast for all rooms, it has a very clean and nice indoor pool, and it has a small but clean gym. The front desk attendant was also super helpful especially since I was a very late check-in. My only complaint and it's really very subjective is that my bed was a little hard bordering on almost a bit uncomfortable. However, the previous times I have stayed at this hotel, it hasn't been an issue so I believe it must have been the bed in that particular room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oompa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Oompa03,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are very sorry that you felt your bed was not comfortable. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your feedback. It helps us make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 630 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Everything about our stay was excellent. From the customer service at check-in, to the fresh-baked cookies, to being able to upgrade rooms without any problem, to the comfort of the bed, to the cleanliness of the bathroom, to the breakfast in the morning, everything was great. I, along with everyone traveling with me, would gladly stay at this location again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank mdiv2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear mdiv2001,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really value all guest feedback. We hope you and your family enjoyed you time in Richmond. We will pass this great feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing great things about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a very good place to stay nice location. Rooms are very big with a queen size beds and I really liked the architect of the building. A lot of steak houses around which gives variety of choices for anyone. The gym and Spa are very spacious and relaxing for someone who has been busy working and exhausted with work fatigue. I do not have any hesitation to come back with families for any future vacation.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank derejea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear derejea,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate our business travelers. We value all guest feedback and will pass it on to our staff. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that we will see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's not near the downtown area. But the hotel is very nice, and you will pay much less than the Hilton Garden Inn. Great service at the front desk and the comp breakfast isn't bad. I would drive the extra miles and stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear eaglesclaw121,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel embodies everything we miss about being in Richmond! The staff are super friendly, the rooms are always very clean, and as a rewards member there are always little incentives. Unfortunately they don't accept pets, so now that my husband and I have a Yorkie we have to stay elsewhere unless family can watch our dog. But, until we had the Yorkie, this was our hotel of choice, every time! And at Christmas it's even more pleasant than usual.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor - the pool smell is very strong. We always get a room that faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Louise,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you so much for your comments and concerns. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the the pet policy. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We apologize for the inconvenience. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Desk person very accommodating and smiley! The desk person made it a very easy decision to stay. The location was a trial to find. Off the main road one block with no sign indicating hotel. GPS was used to find the hotel. Even tho, a great find..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear ctbs,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We are so happy that you chose us. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Richmond. Thank you for your feedback about the Desk person. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was upgraded to a suite room. Tastefully decorated with a bedroom and living room, coffee maker, mini frig, and microwave. Very comfortable and I slept great. Nice breakfast included, eggs, ham, yogurt, fruit, breads. I'm a light breakfast eater, so was more than what I needed.

My only negative was it was hard to find. Bad signage on broad street. Look for the outlook across the street or the holiday inn next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Susan S,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed what the hotel had to offer. Thank you for your concerns about finding the hotel. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We are sorry for the confusion. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#44 of 82 in Richmond
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing