We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second visit to the Country Inn & Suites in Richmond and was not disappointed. Clean, comfortable, and they have cookies! The rooms are a good size and the staff very friendly and helpful. Hard to see from Broad Street and it did not show up on my GPS. Call for directions if not use to the area.

Room Tip: Even with a room beside the elevator it was very quiet. Stay away from the first floor rooms unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtnmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    130
    61
    18
    19
See reviews for
204
101
24
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reedville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable. The staff was as nice as could be. They all went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Jennifer and Cordell bent over backwards to make us comfortable. They did not act as if we were ever bothering them. Even though I asked them a million questions.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There was always fresh coffee and fresh cookies!
Such a treat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Stephney M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the staff. They greatly appreciate hearing great comments about their service. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your time. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is our second time stay at this hotel, great location just few minutes to freeway, good size room, my kids enjoyed the fresh bake cookies. We stayed for 4 nights but the indoor pool was out of order for 2 days, the staff are very friendly, good choice of nearby restaurants.This hotel offered free parking, free internet, free breakfast and have 2 computers and printer at business center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear purpletravler,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments, and will pass them on to our staff. We are sorry for the inconvenience of our pool being down for 2 days of your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here while moving our son into University of Richmond. Our room was ready when we arrived and was very clean. The toilet malfunctioned in the middle of the night, and the night manager came up immediately and fixed it. The next morning I stopped by the front desk to check to see if there was a note left to look it over again to make sure it was fixed. The front desk had already been notified, and the toilet did not malfunction again during our stay. The room was very quiet with great beds. Fresh cookies in the evening were a welcome treat. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but did enjoy the complimentary USA Today paper at the front desk each morning. Will definately stay here again when we return for Parents Weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Patricia B,

Thank you for staying with us while you moved your son into the University. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this review of your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback, and will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed on this hotel one night while traveling in I95, basically new, a liitle difficult to find, the GPS couldnt..., besides that beds are comfortable, no visible dust, etc. is very quiet, and personnel was friendly even asking were do we come from :p
For the price that we pay we think is a good choice, and should be consider if you need a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Elias B,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns, we will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stay at this property on a weekly basis. This hotel is a great place to spend the night unwinding after a days work. The staff is friendly and professional, from the front desk to the maintainence department. I am always made to feel at home here. I get a good breaksfast in the morning from a variety of food that is served in the dining area. It is located in an area within walking distance of good variety of resturants also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tareed1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear tareed1954,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are glad that we could accommodate your business travels. Thank you for all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay for all of our guests. Thanks for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel was clean, furnished nicely, and staff was pleasant. However, if you need a suite, this simply does not work here. The suite had a sitting area with a desk, desk chair, TV on credenza, an easy chair, and a pull out sofa. When the pull out was open, you could barely walk between the desk and the bed. No room left at all for the desk chair. Had you needed to make an emergency exit during the night it would have been most difficult. Bedroom had two queen beds which were comfortable, a dresser with a TV and another easy chair - way too crowded. There was one bathroom and no extra sink outside the bath. This could hardly be considered a suite for a family.

The free breakfast was late b/c an employee failed to show up for work. When it opened, the food was not yet heated, waffle iron was cold, juice machine was not turned on, and milk for cereal was not set out until everything else was ready. Breakfast was probably a good one on a normal day but when you have to be out by a certain time this was certainly inconvenient.

I can only recommend this hotel for those not wating a suite especially if you have problems being in close quarters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karatekids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Karatekids2,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We would like to apologize deeply for not having the breakfast ready for you. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you for telling us about your visit. Thank you for telling us about the concerns in your suite. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel.

Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
5.5 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 85 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Carlson and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing