We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Predict” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggiano's - Richmond

Maggiano's - Richmond
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggiano's - Richmond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,593 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hard to Predict”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Let me start by saying that Maggiano's is one of my favorite places to eat. The food is consistently good. I just wish the service was as consistent. You never know when you come if service is going to excellent or bad. On our last visit, we encountered the later. Our waiter was very nice but clueless and despite the fact that the restaurant was not its normal bustling self, it took a long long time for our food to be served. Part of our group ordered salad. The waiter brought the wrong salad for two of our guests. It took nearly our hour for our entrees to show up despite asking a manager to check on the status of our orders. Other tables who arrived later received their food before us. Too bad that Maggiano's service cannot be as consistently good as their food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dond7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    122
    38
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Totally wonderful food! The portions are humongous so we always have enough leftovers for 2 more meals.

The Short Pump area is crazy with people and activity and we prefer to go for lunch or at least a few hours before dinnertime... We have been there at dinnertime and were turned away because their waiting-list was already maxed out.

They use fresh tomatoes for their bruschetta! Their zucchini appetizer is SO GOOD (and large enough to be a meal for one.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just went here for my anniversary and we made reservations to eat here. Although we were extremely late, when we arrived we were treated great. Our able was ready, the atmosphere was great. It was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. As any other Maggianos we had been to the food was absolutely delicious. To top off the evening our server brought us a complimentary fruit n cookie desert spread with whip cream and candles as their way of wishing us a happy anniversary. It was a great experience and we will definitely go again ..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tdoug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place to Dine when in Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Whenever we're on the west end of Richmond, we love to dine at Maggiano's. If we're short on time, we'll even get takeout to bring back to Norfolk. There are so many delicious choices on their extensive menu, however, our favorite has to be the Chef KB's Lobster Carbonara - Spaghetti, lobster, smoked bacon, snap peas and garlic cream sauce. Their portions are large and we always have delicious leftovers for the next day! On our most recent visit, we celebrated Terri's mother's 94th Birthday. The staff was so very accomodating in making her birthday special.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Consistently good food, service, atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Have dined here many times, with large groups, and with my spouse, and I have never been disappointed.
Came a couple of nights ago with business colleagues, and had a very good meal, with excellent service. The place is crowded no matter when you come, which attests to the overall value, service, and food. It can be pricey............or you can get many great Italian dishes for a great price.
I have had many of the appetizers previously, and can attest to the spinach and artichoke dip, the calamari, the fried mozzarella, and the flatbreads. All good.
For mains, I usually get a pasta with sausage, or a seafood pasta. This week I had the crab and shrimp tropheo, one of their specialty pastas. Good, but not great. Plenty of shrimp and crab with hand twisted pasta, grape tomatoes and broccoli. It was just that the sauce was not great (in my opinion). My work mates had the veal parm and absolutely loved it............comes with a side of spaghetti.
Overall a very good restaurant.........every time.
Wonderful to come here with a large group and try a variety of dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maggiano's - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing