We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“late night arrival”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
USA---
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“late night arrival”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an OK location just several miles north of town and very easily accessible from the Amtrak Station. Shot in Dark decision for this property but viewed TripAdvisor for review while on train from Washington. A positive review had just been posted for this motel that same day. IT is a little hard to find in dark, Its directly behind McDonalds off US 1 not on street corner).
Parking is little tight, the desk was very friendly and helpful. Room at far end of hall next to road but did not hear road traffic. Room very spacious with King bed & everything worked.
Breakfast was standard roll your own waffle, cereal, pastries, sausage with cold boiled eggs, however all seemed good.
Wife was happy here so that means so was I.
I will stay here again...........

Room Tip: Room at end of hall on first floor was very comfortable. No Problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper19-20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
32
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent 4 nights there for a family wedding. First tried room on 4th floor but smell of smoke was overwhelming (it was a non smoking room) then moved to 2nd floor room. Battery in smoke detector started beeping and phone didn't work so had to go tell front desk. They quickly and very apologetically fixed it for me. I could hear the people walking on floor above me, but luckily they went to bed pretty early. No tubs, just showers. Thought that was a little strange but was fine. The rooms were fine and clean. Not great, but for a budget hotel very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Staff was extremely accomodating. It was a great location since I didn't have a car. Mexican restaurant very close as well as several fast food places.

Room Tip: Choose 1st or 2nd floor if you don't like smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lula120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and everything went well. Clean, quiet room, great shower, front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast was good, comfortable beds. Location was nice for a trip to Richmond. I only wish they had a fitness room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laylamonroe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days for business and had a very good experience. My room was quiet and clean. The edges of the carpeting could be vacuumed with more frequency, but that wasn't a problem. The breakfast was decent. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The internet connection was decent as well. I stayed in a room with two queen beds.
There are numerous places to eat within a mile of the hotel. The cross streets can be busy at times, but I didn't notice a significant amount of noise.
If in the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We met friends from the south for a two night visit hoping to relax, catch up on news, shop, and eat. Sleep Inn provided a fine location to do all four things. There is easy access to a variety of places to eat and the Virginia Commons Mall with a movie multiplex is only a short drive away. We found the staff very attentive and helpful. The two things that prevented a higher rating were noise (voices) from the next room and hall getting into our room and a slight smoky smell on our smoke-free hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Let's start off by saying, this IS a Sleep Inn on a busy street in a busy part of town. If you are looking for luxury towels and absolute quiet, this is not for you. But if you are coming to Richmond and want a clean, safe and well priced hotel this is an excellent choice. The rooms are pretty big, the bed is comfortable and the staff are very nice. They do not give you a lot of towels, but if you call the front desk they are happy to get you more. The hotel shows the regular signs of wear and tear like spots on the carpet and what not, but I walked around barefoot without being uncomfortable which is more than I can say from a lot of places I have spent more money on.

It is on a pretty major intersection, so you can hear some traffic from you room but it was nothing too loud. Same thing with the walls being thin, you are able to hear some muffled noises from the room next door if your neighbors are loud, but nothing that is unpleasant.

If you are coming to see the city, make sure you have a car if you stay in this location. It's an easy commute to the city, but the hotel is not in the "downtown" section most travelers come to see. It is in a commercial section about 10 minutes away. Downtown is accessible by bus from this location, but it's not the best bus route as it goes through some gross parts of town first. Nothing dangerous, just some less than great looking areas that most people don't want to take public transit through. It's a city, it happens.

I would totally stay here again as a cheap alternative to most of the hotels around town. It was cleaner than expected and cheaper than expected, what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: It will help if you stay on the FRONT side of the hotel as this will be facing the parking lot inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSideLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a basketball game at the University of Richmond. I did not want to stay downtown and chose this hotel because it was located on the north side of Richmond and close to Interstate 95. I made my first nights reservation through the Choice Hotels website and check in was quick and easy. Upon arrival I was promptly greeted by a very nice and professional front desk clerk who made me feel immediately welcome. After a quick check in I found my room to be very clean and very well furnished. The wireless internet work great and was very quick. The breakfast area was rather large and I didn’t feel crowded or rushed. The breakfast area featured the usual cereals, pastries, fruit, waffles, juice and coffee. I found the coffee to be quiet good and not too strong or bitter. It was very well maintained and attended throughout the advertised hours. After checking out I decided later in the day that I would need to stay another night in the Richmond area. Late in the afternoon I returned to this hotel and was once again warmly greeted. Not only was I able to secure a room but they accommodated me with the same rate that I had received for my previous night’s stay. Even though this hotel is located adjacent to busy Parham Road, highway noise was not an issue. The employees at this hotel are very professional and customer service oriented and will go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. If you are looking for a clean hotel with a very reasonable rate and a nice professional staff then I would recommend this hotel. I would definitely stay here whenever I am in the Richmond Area.

Room Tip: Parking can be a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakinDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#38 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
11.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 950 E Parham Rd, Richmond, VA 23228-6511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Richmond
Sleep Inn Richmond
Richmond Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing