We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Best hotel in area”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Without a doubt, best hotel in the area, and one of best stays I've ever had.

Very comfortable high end bed, WiFi, modern decor. Great price for what you get, with almost a full kitchen. Located off of an upscale mall, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikenohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, June 20, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased to hear you had one of the best stays ever at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for the great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    197
    47
    12
    15
See reviews for
292
212
40
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed in a Studio Suite for 4 days. It was perfect with a small kitchen and a beautiful plushy king size bed and sitting area. The bath was large with a contemporary flare. Breakfast in the morning was complementary and had a wonderful selection. Located by Short Pump Mall , there are many dining options in walking distance. We will be staying here again while in Richmond.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southcity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We are happy to know you enjoyed your four day stay at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Richmond area.
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I have stayed at the Sierra several times in the past 8 months. It has become my home away from home when I visit friends in Richmond. It never disappoints. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The corner suite with soaking tub is a must if you are looking for a romantic getaway.

Can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
"The Best of the Best" is a very nice compliment! We are so delighted Hotel Sierra is your home away from home when visiting the Richmond area. Thank you the great comments regarding the comfort of the beds and décor of the rooms. We look forward to your next visit!
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a wonderful comfortable hotel in the Short Pump area of northwestern Richmond. There are lots of shopping and dining (mostly chains) in the area, and the freeway access is easy to the west or east. It is a location with an upscale urban decor scheme; if you are looking for wonderful views and the ability to open the windows to let some fresh air in, then this is NOT the hotel for you. It does, however have an inner courtyard with a nice pool and fireplace complex, a great business center, and filling breakfast buffet. I recommend this hotel to anyone with the following caveat: if you want to see something - ANYTHING - outside your window be sure to ask about the availability of an upper floor or outward facing room. I had a 4th floor corner efficiency (which is a very nice room) but it looked directly across toward a blank wall! I was hardly in the room, but all the same there was little sunshine that made it's way to my windows! Also, be sure you get detailed directions as the hotel is difficult to spot from the main road as it is part of a retail complex and set way back from the main roadway.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Sierra. We are delighted you found the décor to be upscale with a modern "urban feel" and you enjoyed the second floor terrace with infinity pool and fire pit. I reviewed your comment regarding the signage for hotel and will see what can be done to make it easier to locate the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We loved our two night stay at Hotel Sierra while we were picking up our daughter after her freshman year in college. We had a suite which had plenty of room and privacy for all of us. The beds were comfortable. The breafasts in the morning were very good (especially the fresh fruit and omelets).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted you and your family had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for the nice compliments regarding the bed and breakfast. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This hotel looks really nice because it is new. We didn't sleep at all! The noise from the pool area until 11pm. The room next to ours had 3 adults talking from 2am until 4am. I know that when staying in any hotel you are going to hear others but this was ridiculous! When I called down to the front desk at 3am to complain I was told that they would write it down...I really expected more from this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwynne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Sierra. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we get. I do apologize for the noise you heard from the adjoining room and the response you received when you called the front desk. We are looking at ways to better insulate the door frame to prevent the noise carrying from room to room. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service and I hope you allow us another opportunity to serve you.
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I was in Richmond, VA on business from February 8 to March 29, 2010. It was my pleasure to stay at the Hotel Sierra, located in the Short Pump Mall in Richmond, VA.
The large rooms are tastefully appointed and all include high speed internet access. Double doors from the living room lead to the very comfortable king size bed. If you are big fan of fluffy towels you will love these. Complimentary robes are changed weekly. The bathroom had a shower rather than a tub. Although, I understand that over-sized tubs are available in some of the rooms. There is a full sized refrigerator, an electric cook top stove, and a dishwasher. A heated outdoor pool is adjacent to the fitness center which, is adequate. However, hotel guests have use of the nearby “American Family Fitness Center”. In addition you can relax in the evening sitting by the outdoor fireplace. There are several conference rooms available for meetings.
The complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet includes scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, corned beef hash, and an assortment of hot and cold cereals, pastries and bread assortments among other items. For me, the things that make this breakfast stand out among other hotel breakfast fare is the "made to order” omelette station and the Starbucks Coffee. Yum!
Although, there is no formal restaurant, there is a small lounge that serves beer, wine and light snacks from which you can also order room service. The hotel is surrounded by supermarkets, restaurants, department stores, including national chains such as Macys, Nordstrom, Dillard, Home Depot, Costco, Sam's Club, The Cheesecake Factory, etc. If you do stay at this hotel don’t overlook the “Copper Grill”. It’s pricey but, well worth the cost and only a 2 minute walk away.
I gave the hotel "4 stars" for value rather than 5, only because there is no point system. Nevertheless, I would highly recommend the hotel Sierra if you are staying in the area. Interestingly, many of the customers are locals on a weekend getaway. I LOVE THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debsgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Wow! Thank you for the great comments and detailed review of your stay at Hotel Sierra. Being a long term guest you were able to take advantage of all of the services and amenities offered, and it sounds like you enjoyed them all! I am so delighted you found the location to be within walking distance of several restaurants and shopping. Thank you again and we hope you will stay with us again soon!
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
12.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Property: HYATT House Richmond-West
Address: 11800 W Broad St Ste 1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Richmond-West blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service, and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing