We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Let me say...this place rocks! We found this hotel online by chance and we are soo happy that we did. We were in Richmond dropping off our son at VCU, and wanted to make the trip into a mini vacation. While on this vacation we wanted to take our daughter shopping at Short Pump and thought it would be nice to stay in that general area...after doing a quick search this hotel appeared and it was great!!

Upon arrival you are greeted with a friendly staff and a contemporary atmosphere. Our room was on the second floor over looking the pool area...the pool area is great...they have modern furniture and they even have an outdoor propane fire pit. There was also relaxing music playing and at night they had elegant lighting.

Our room was way more than we could have ever asked for....it, like everything else, was very modern. We loved the flat screen tv, and my daughter loved the ipod docking station on the alarm clock. Our room had a microwave, refridge, wine opener, wine glasses, coffee maker..etc...also, a very nice large full lengh mirror. The bathroom was amazing! Nice vanity, a lighted make-up mirror, tiled floor and bath-tub. The bed was very comfortable...I felt like I was sleeping in luxury rather than on a piece of hard wood, like at most hotels. Again, it was soo much better than we ever anticipated.

Breakfast was great! They had eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits with gravy, omlette station, Starbucks coffee and more!

All around this was a GREAT place to stay. Only thing that I didn't really care for was the pool was only 4ft deep but it worked and we had a great time! The staff was great which can make or break any hotel stay.... we rode the elevator with one staff member and they actually made an effort to talk to us and to make sure we were enjoying our stay...customer service was excellent!

We will stay here again! No questions about that!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayandwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
It is an amazing feeling hearing that you you enjoyed Hotel Sierra so well! We are glad that we could complete your "mini vacation" and allow you to shop but also relax. It is great to hear you enjoyed our hotel amenities and your room overall. We hope to have you back again soon and thank you again for thinking of Hotel Sierra as an Excellent choice.
Sincerely,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 878 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel-Sierra Richmond West on a recent college visit to University of Richmond. This hotel was wonderful and located right in the middle of the Short Pump mall.

The hotel is brand new and everything is spotless. The lobby is modern, yet comfortable. Our room was large (two queen sized beds) and had a 42" flat screen TV! The bathroom was large as well and very well laid out.

Breakfast was the nicest surprise of all. The "continental breakfast" that's included with your room rate included hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, home-fried potaties, Starbucks coffee and even a man cooking made-to-order omelettes!

We loved this hotel and will definitely stay here again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobycat318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad that you loved Hotel Sierra! It is great to hear you have such positive feedback about your room and your stay overall. We are glad that we could help complete you and your daughters visit and look forward to having you back. Good luck with your college visits!
Yours in hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We had a great stay... Hotel Sierra was perfect. Located in the Mall, great for morning shopping. The rooms lobby were clean and very well kept. Staff, very accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzvitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We are so glad that you had a great stay and hope to see you again soon!
In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I was very anxious and ready to review and tell everyone about my stay at Hotel Sierra.
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed myself at the hotel but I will try. The stay was wonderful, the hotel was everything you said it would be and more. Sales people say all kinds of things to get you to come to their hotel but I was sold and you were absolutely on-the-mark about everything. When I first heard about a hotel at the mall I thought it was the craziest thing I ever heard of. I thought it would be noisy and I foresaw all kinds of problems. But I did not feel like I was at a mall at all. I sat out in the pool area and it was lovely. The breakfast the next morning was better than most hotel fare. This hotel is over the top!! Everyone I came into contact with was so helpful and nice. The rooms are incredible - with very comfy beds and a sea of fluffy pillows! Did I say comfy beds.... wonderful, divine!!The TV was great, the music upon entering so welcome. The hotel itself is still new so is doesn't show the wear and tear of years of guests..a nice treat to be in something that still has a shine to it! The decor of the hotel was also a nice change of pace from the usual predictable decor of every other hotel I've ever been in. The Hotel Sierra has made every effort to design a hotel that at least makes you feel like you're in a boutique hotel. My room had ample space with a separate bedroom with king bed, a near full kitchen (full size fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, dishes etc. I wish I had more people with me.
A few minor downsides to our stay...the bathroom did not include a full bathtub, only a large stand-up shower with a glass wall (I did appreciate a hotel without the standard dirty shower curtain!). But not a deal breaker at least not for me ! This may pose a problem for people with kids. There was some gurgling going on with the toilet and the shower but then it went away.
I highly recommend this hotel, I could have stayed a week, not just for a weekend stay - but for a retreat!!

1  Thank tc_8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Having traveled extensively, staying at hundreds of hotels, this is the first time I have felt it necessary to write a review.
We were there for the opening weekend for a graduation with family. We were in five different rooms, every category, a few for three nights and there wasn't a complaint among us.
I reserved months in advance after seeing the location; steps to restaurants and shopping. The staff I spoke with was exceptionally accomodating with all of my room requests.
From the time we checked in, the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They were professional and friendly without making us feel like it was "just their job".
The rooms were truly gorgeous. I think the double was the largest I'd ever seen. We were in a corner suite and it exceeded our expectations. The family that had kitchen facilities was also impressed.
Breakfast was probably the best I've had that is included in the rate. Everything was fresh and the staff was on top of the selection at all times making sure it was abundant,
hot when required and suited to individual needs when called for.
Unfortunately the pool area was not open yet but it certainly looked like someplace we would want to be.
The only thing that bothers me is there isn't a reason for us to go back to Richmond now!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmkdonna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite, on y est très à l'aise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EMMA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank 宮下秀洋
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
13.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
943 reviews
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Address: 11800 W Broad St Ste 1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $142 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Richmond-West blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service, and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing