We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“convenient and smart stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT House Richmond-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“convenient and smart stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel for an impromptu weekend get-away with my husband. The room was laid out well and had all the conveniences for bringing your own snacks/drinks and hanging out in between shopping, dining and entertainment. The location just couldn't get any better for shopping and easy access to 64 to jet downtown in the evenings. Lovely decor and comfy bed. Would recommend to other couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 118anonymous118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    141
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
178
144
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hyatt House is a superior hotel located minutes awawy from downtown Richmond. This hotel is conviently located near a mall and many restaurants. Its a beautiful hotel room with a kitchenette and sofa. I stayed in the studio and it felt like I had my own little apartment for the weekend. My window over looked the courtyard where I saw a cozy fire burning ad a hot tub. I will be sure to come back to this htel next time I visit Richmond!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvillle
Level Contributor
483 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While on an overnight business trip to Richmond, I stayed at the Hyatt House was was extremely impressed with both the location as well as the well thought out accomodations.
I was most impressed with the shower as the shower door had a circular cutout so that you could reach in and turn on the water! No more strategically placing yourself so you don't get hit by a blast of cold or hot water. Kudos to the designer!
Check in was warm and friendly. The room included a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, a stove, dishwasher and microwave as well as dishes and glasses.
Internet access was complimentary.
My room overlooked several restaurants in the mall (which is attached to the Hyatt and makes for an easy way to pick up something from one of the department stores.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this facility for four nights in September 2012. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room, which included a very nicely equipped kitchenette, lounging/TV area, and a very comfortable king-sized bed. The other great thing was, the room was very quiet. Although the hotel was fully booked during my time there, I couldn't hear a peep from outside, the hallway, or adjacent rooms.

The place is immaculate, the breakfast choices were really tasty, and I love the location, which is directly adjacent to Short Pump shopping center--a good way to entertain oneself and get some exercise walking around after a long work day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rottmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location, off I-64 near I-295 connector, drive around to the rear of the Short Pump shopping center and Hyatt is near Dick's Sporting Goods. Friendly & efficient checkin. We had a studio king with windows overlooking Firebirds. Attractive & nicely furnished, everything was clean, everything worked. Super-convenient to park the car after a long drive, check in and then walk to dinner with a good choice of restaurants or fast-food or shopping, as you like. Mix of hot and cold items on the breakfast buffet. Definitely recommend this for an overnight or two, certainly worth the very short detour if you're driving on I-95 north or south.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoOneWillAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were a party of 2 adults plus an elderly relative, so we needed one room with 2 queen beds so we could keep an eye on her. The building looked relatively new and renovated, and the public spaces were sleek, with a contemporary flair. The room was nicely sized (see photo) with 2 queen beds, a long desk, flat screen, clean bathroom with Gilchrist & Soames bath products. On the second floor, there is a nice sized fitness center with doors to an outside pool. In the fall the pool is closed, but they keep the adjoining hot tub going, and there is a nice fire pit which is open year-round every evening. Breakfast is several notches above other hotels, with a better selection of baked goods, hot foods and a great omelet bar with made-to-order omelets.
The only issue is getting there: that there are several area Hyatts nearby and if you search by hotel name, this one does not show up on the nav system. The hotel's website tells you to enter Sierra as the name of the hotel, but that didn't show up on our nav either. If you search for the address for Short Pump Town Center, you will see 11800 W. Broad, Richmond. Our Nav couldn't find it until we put in Henrico as the town, not Richmond. The best way to get here, and what the hotel people should emphasize, is that if you can get yourself to the Short Pump shopping mall - a huge place - then drive around the mall's loop until you see Dick's sporting goods. if you get to Dick's you will see the hotel.

Other than the confusing and contradictory directions, it is a very nice hotel, literally inside the mall complex, so convenient to food and abundant shopping. I would definitely stay here again - especially now that I know how to get here!

Room Tip: We were put on the top floor 6th - very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I knew of this location because of a previous visit where I was at the Town Center but I used a GPS to get me there late at night and it only gets you close. Investigate prior to the trip to know it is in the back of the mall. I had a late night arrival of 12:45am so I didn't expect to see a whole lot of activity in the lobby but expected to at least see the greeter or someone other than the floor cleaner upon arrival. After 30 seconds or so a person came out to greet me but she had her name tag on upside down and the blouse she had on looked like she just slurped up some spaghetti because it was covered in sauce stains. Got checked in and headed to my room. I had a suite which was nice but I was only there for 2 nights but will keep in mind for longer stays in the future. As soon as I hit the bed I noticed it was very comfortable, like a cloud and I had some of the best sleep I have had while traveling these 2 nights. The breakfast buffet was very good. Large selection of items hot and cold to eat and the coffee is quite good. Room was very nice and the internet connection was better than usual with no problem connecting to work. If you are looking for a room with a view this isn't the hotel for you, I had a view of the pool which was nicely light up and the fire pit was roaring with a few people enjoying the unseasonably warm weather. The other side of the hotel views would be a mall parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 88 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 88 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
6.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 88 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Property: HYATT House Richmond-West
Address: 11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing