We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice shopping center hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a new and really nice hotel that is ATTACHED to the ----- Mall about 15 minutes from Richmond downtown.  it is in a nice up scale suburb yet convenient to Richmond for sight seeing or business.  The hotel is the new Hyatt suite, extended stay concept, Hayatt house.  Only this used to be another hotel brand so it is a remodel.  The "kitchen" is a microwave and mini fridge, not even a wet bar sink.  I chose a corner executive room which was huge with 7 windows.  Only problem is the windows overlook a shopping center (Macy's, nNordstom, Dillard's) parking lot.  But the room is nice the staff was nice.  The free breakfast was moderate.  Nice selection of restaurants around within a mile.  If you are looking to shop till you drop this is the hotel for you.  Others will find it OK but the Dicks Sporting Goods Superstore next door takes away from the ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank aybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for HYATT House Richmond-West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 841 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a one night getaway and loved it! the hotel was very clean, the room was a bit small but I'd rather have a smaller clean room than a huge dirty room. The staff was very helpful and there are so many shops and resturants within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast was great, many options. Overall the only thing that would make this hotel any better would be rooms with jacuzzi and and indoor pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location of the hotel is tricky - it's in the depths of a sprawling shopping mall off the interstate. If you don't have a car you'd better have local friends that do, and your GPS will get you only part of the way there as every building in the mall has the same street address.

Once you've found it, it's a high quality experience. Check in was equally next-door-neighbour friendly, and professionally efficient, in the way that big-chain American hotels manage so well. The suburban sprawl feel extends to the hospital-gurney sized elevators and super-wide corridors. Decor is modern, clean, chic, not over-decorated.

My room had a very comfortable bed with great bedlinen; a good sized working desk; a usable kitchenette with live-in fridge (it was huge); and a sofabed and coffee table. Although the bathroom was a good size, it only had a shower, albeit a big one, not a long bath. After a long week and a long journey to get here, a soak in the bath would have been nice. However there's a jacuzzi attached to the pool which I guess would serve the same purpose if you had your speedos with you. The bathroom toiletries were of good quality. Finally, there was a good ipod dock, almost a requirement in a hotel room these days!

Internet was free and worked well. The breakfast buffet isn't extensive, but what was there was good (scrambled eggs, moreishly crispy bacon, bagels, etc) and altho' it's a buffet, there are staff there to clear and be helpful, laying on the Southern charm.

Checkout was also efficient and easy; however I'd had to change my check-out date at short notice, and although I'd advised the night clerk the message hadn't got through. It wasn't a problem tho'.

I didn't use any of the facilities, but there is a pool, albeit a modest size, lappable but only about 10-15 yards, not 25. There's a gym too. If you're a runner, if you run out of the mall and cross to the opposite side of the interstate, you hit semi-rural woodland which is pleasant.

We asked the check-in clerk for a dinner recommendation, but couldn't find the place - however there's a dozen or so restaurants within the mall area so easy to find something you'd like. We found an excellent and not particularly expensive Mexican restaurant a 2-minute drive away.

So long as you have your own wheels (really - you can't expect to walk to anywhere apart from to the mall shops!) and can find the place, this is comfortable and excellent value, and would be good for a longer stay. I'd stay here again if I were in the 'hood for a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms either look out (car park/shopping mall) or over the pool. If it matters to you, ask at check...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Mrs Seat64K and I stayed twice at this Hyatt property: at the start and at the end of our VA holiday.

Overall, I rate this hotel as very good, We stayed in a studio suite, equipped with mini kitchen, huge TV, sofa and comfy bed. Unfortunately, due to the lighting (very low wattage?) the spotlessly clean bathroom appeared dingy. Perhaps lighter walls and different lighting would make for a more appealing bathroom. But this is a minor quibble. Although we didn't fully use it, the mini kitchen had everything you'd need to eat-in in the evening.

Service was minimal but helpful. Breakfast choice was extensive, the usual US breakfast staples being provided.

I found that the room had two drawbacks, the first was the fridge which was rather loud, especially as the room itself was very quiet (easy enough to deal with: turn off before going to bed, turn on in the morning...). Secondly, although the filter coffee provided wasn't too bad, the Hyatt House ONLY provided that ghastly synthetic "coffee creamer" instead of little pots of real milk or half-and-half. Apparently, according to the helpful desk clerk, they used to have real milk, but Hyatt decided that powdered creamer would be the standard (c'mon Hyatt, surely your customers deserve better than synthetic "stuff" for their morning in-room coffee?).

In all, a very good place to stay. Near to shops and restaurants, nicely fitted out and reasonable prices, I'd certainly suggest Hyatt House Richmond West for anyone wishing to visit Richmond, but bring your own milk (or filch a mini pot of half-and-half from the Hotel's entrance coffee bar).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat64K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind words,it is our goal to exceed your expectations.
We hope your travels bring you back to Richmond and forward to serving you again and you will not have to bring your our milk ( we have plenty in the kitchen, just ask!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Traveled to Richmond for a two day meeting. Previously stayed at two other hotels, but this hotel has me sold. The lobby is just beautiful and better still it is adjacent to the Short Pump Town Center, great stores and eating establishments. I tried to attach pics of my room. Comfortable bed, full kitchen, big screen tv, spacious bath and quiet, but site will not allow. If I can attach later I will. They also have a wonderful fitness room, pool and spa. So you ask okay they have what most hotels have so what won me over. It was the "BREAKFAST" other hotels say free breakfast and it consist of juice, bagels and instant hot cereal. But this hotel offers an omelet station, and a very big selection of hot and cold foods. This is a thumbs up for the hotel, location and features. In addition the staff was friendly and quick to accommodate. I think it is a winner!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Wow, what wonderful compliments! We are delighted you decided to stay at Hyatt House and are pleased you enjoyed our hotel, the location and amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience and for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

stayed for 2 nights on short business trip. really loved this hotel: very clean, nice updated decor, loved the rooms and bed was very comfortable. great layout of rooms. breakfast buffet was free and pretty good food! was pretty crowded though. wifi speed was good and free. great price and location was great for us too: adjacent to town center mall.

will be coming back next time we are in richmond!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likestotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad you gave Hyatt House a try and we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the great comments and we look forward to hosting you again.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here while on a business trip recently. Very clean, good public areas and very comfortable bed.
Would be particularly good if you were taking an extended stay as there are cooking and refrigeration facilities in the suites.
Breakfast is great, and there is a lady who works there clearing plates etc who brightens your morning with her chit chat. She's 63 apparently!
I would definitely stay there again when travelling to Richmond.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
The "young lady" you are referring to is Marty, she brightens all our days!

Thank you for the great comments and we look forward to hosting you again.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
738 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Address: 11800 W Broad St Ste 1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $136 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Richmond-West blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service, and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing