We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of my list for hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT House Richmond-West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top of my list for hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is seriously a great bang for your buck. I would rank this as my top hotel I have ever stayed in...and I am a hotel snob and huge clean freak. Beautiful property, right in Short Pump Mall..lots of places to eat and shop. Breakfast is great..made to order omelets..lots of hot foods and Starbucks coffee. I only have one complaint but I am not going to let it affect my star rating I am giving them. The first morning after checked in they were replacing the carpet right next door to us. This went on for about 6 hours with doors constantly slamming and people talking really loud. After traveling for a week we all wanted to sleep but that didn't happen and when I called down to complain they offered nothing for the inconvenience. I would have comped our room for the night for great customer service. But since the hotel was so nice and clean...I just gave them the five stars. Best hotel ever other than that issue.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmurfySmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Best hotel you've ever stayed in is a very great compliment. I do apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay. We should have offered to move you to another room. On a positive note, I am pleased to read you found the hotel to be clean and in a great location.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    175
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
250
196
37
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel rocks plain and simple. It is attached to a fabulous shopping center. Clean modern comfortable beds. I am a hotel snob. The breakfast was delicious with Starbucks coffee. Real dishes and healthy great breakfast choices. I not only would stay again I would like to have an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasCityTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you think Hotel Sierra rocks! Thank you for taking the time to post your great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here over the July 4th holiday. The hotel is at one end of Short Pump Town Center which makes it great for shopping and dropping off packages. All the front desk staff were great, friendly and very helpful. We had a king room with a full frig which was great for leftovers from restaurants we tried in the area. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was delicious and such choices - including omelets made to order. We found our room clean and the bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing about your great experience at Hotel Sierra. I am pleased you found the location to be great and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Thank you for recommending to others and we look forward to having you back.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

we stayed in one of the special corner rooms with the soak tub. the room was very clean and well kept. there was no complaint about cleanliness or any complaints about the service, the amenities, etc.
we only had a few complaints about the set-up of the room itself. they had a tiny refrig/freezer that didn't hold much, but okay. the kitchenette had a microwave and coffee maker, a few bowls, cups, glasses, plates, and silverware. no where to wash any dishes, if you wanted to, but i guess you were supposed to leave the dirty dishes for the daily maid service. hard for us to get use to, but we did.
my main complaint was that the room had a gorgeous, tremendous bathroom with a huge shower and double sinks. they had a separate stall for the toilet, however, no door giving anyone in the toilet full privacy. if you don't like to be exposed, using the toilet meant closing the door to the whole bathroom. they needed to put a door or curtain or something giving the stall privacy, so that whoever wanted to use the rest of the bathroom could do so.
everything else was very nice and we really enjoyed our stay in that room and the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a very decent hotel with a great breakfast buffet. I stayed here Easter weekend and the hotel satisfied all my needs. It's in a great area literally on the mall grounds, which makes the address a bit decewptive, since 11800 W Broad Street is the entrance to the mall and you need to know to travel around on the mall's interior road to find the place. It took a few stops asking people where it was before we found it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimindc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay Easter weekend. We are in a great location at Short Pump town Center Mall. I am sorry you had a hard time finding us.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed on Friday nite with last minute reservations by internet. A little pricey but I truly believe you get what you pay for. Here you get the best of everything. The best service, the cleanest well appointed room you will every find, an excellent breakfast, relaxing lounging areas, lovely pool area, great restraurants nearby, easy parking.. you will not find a better place to stay. When we checked in we learned there were 3 major events, weddings etc., going on & became a little worried about crowds or noise. We never knew there was anything going in the event areas or the hotel at all. Even at breakfast it was a little crowded but everything flowed beautifully. If you are looking for a place for a great relaxing trip this is the place. You will not go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to read you had a relaxing enjoyable stay at Hotel Sierra. Your positive comments regarding the breakfast, amenities, atmosphere and cleanliness are much appreciated. We look forward to you staying with us on your next visit to Richmond.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We were in Richmond for one night visiting friends on Memorial Day Weekend and wanted to spend the night before going back to D.C. This hotel was great! New, comfortable, and nicely furnished. We'll definitely stay here when we return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sierra for your visit to Richmond. We are glad you had a great stay and look forward to you staying with us again soon.

In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Property: HYATT House Richmond-West
Address: 11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing