We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I read reviews on TripAdvisor and other sites and decided on this hotel. We stayed 2 nights, one on each end of our trip. We had a 6:15am flight going and arrived at 11:51 pm returning. I used the prepaid option (saves some $). Never having stayed in Candlwood Suites before we were very satisfied. Rooms have refrigerators, stoves and dishwashers. This hotel does not charge for parking like some others in the area. They have a van to transport you to & from the airport. I asked for wakeup calls and got them on time. I did call about 2 hours in advance of our late night arrival to make sure we had a pickup and the van was waiting. When an important & valuable item was left during our first stay, staff was aware when I called from our destination. We asked them to keep it until our return and our valuable was placed in their safe. I was very impressed with all the staff I encountered and appreciated the attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you Crazyteapot for your review of our hotel. We are very glad that we could accomodate you and make your stay a great stay. As you mentioned, we do not charge for parking, and we even have a great Park N Fly option which lets guests leave their car over an extended time and we provide them with a shuttle to the airport and when they come back, we pick them up. No additional charge! We were glad to keep your item safe for you and to see it safely returned. If you are in the area again, come back by and stay with us.

-James Brown, General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Candlewood Suites- Richmond Airport last weekend. We were in town for a wedding so the reservations were made without our input.
The hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and well maintained. When I return to Richmond I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombero2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you Bombero2556 for your recent review of our hotel. My best to the new bride and groom, I hope it was a great event. We appreciate you staying with us at our hotel, even though you had no input in the location. We make sure that each room is checked and double checked before a guest arrives to make sure that each room is in the best possible condition for guest usage. The hotel is constantly cleaned on a daily basis to ensure that we keep things as new as when they were built. I am glad to hear that you will stay with us again, and please do not hesitate to call so that a reservation can be set up.

Thank you again, best regards,
James Brown, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This team of people make our stays completely enjoyable,happy,friendly and more importantly, they work with a sense of urgency. A great place to stay on a regular bases.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you Expco for your review of our hotel. The team here at the Candlewood Suites - Richmond Airport strive for outstanding customer service each and every day. I am glad to hear that the team has imparted that desire for excellent customer service unto you, and I hope that you will continue to stay with us when you are in the Richmond area. We want you to feel like you are at your home away from home when you stay here.

We look forward to seeing you again,
James Brown, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Great Value.....Very Clean, which is very important to me...service was awesome...will stay again.........great location...shopping, restaurants as well...Thanks John for the great customer service.... The Wingo's Johnstown, Ohio

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

Thank you very much Racey3 for your review of our hotel. Here at the Candlewood Suites - Richmond Airport, we strive for excellent customer service at all times. I am glad you discovered the White Oaks Shopping Center, just one minute from our hotel. We hope you will come back soon and stay with us.

-James Brown, General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Honestly this hotel is one of the best hotels for your money you can stay in. I took my wife and 3 kids to Kings Dominion on Saturday and Busch Gardens on Sunday, we stayed at the Candlewood Suites because it is pretty much central to both parks(give or take a "few" miles). Our reservations were taken care of exactly the way we requested, with both our rooms non-smoking, on a higher floor and close to one another. The rooms are in perfect condition, with a full size fridge, coffee maker, dishwasher, stove, and sink. there is a flat screen TV with free cable, free WIFI and the beds are VERY comfortable. The washer and dryers are free of charge for guest and there is even a little onsite store where you can get things for your room(milk, juice, razors, cereal,pizza, etc.) Kayla at the front desk was the perfect customer service rep, she answered all of our questions and took care of anything that we may have needed during our stay....A+++++ Hotel and only paid $79 a night!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superfreak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

To Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Candlewood Suites - Richmond Airport as your place to stay, we very much appreciate your business. I am glad to hear you had a great stay with us, and that your stay was fruitful. You visited both Busch Gardens and Kings Dominion, and hopefully next time you will get to try the water park, Water Country USA, which is right next to Busch Gardens. I was also glad to hear that Kayla was able to accomodate your two rooms so close to each other, and she appreciates the high praise. With our full kitchen sets, we are set up to accomodate almost any need you may require. We here at the Candlewood Suites hope you join us again on your next trip to Richmond.

-James Brown, General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Very nice place to stay, Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. Great location, close to airport and close to nice shopping mall with lots of restaurants and grocery stores. Full kitchen in room to prepare meals.
Pet friendly hotel at reasonable rate.

Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarLu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Great new Hotel. Great for the price and quiet from traffic and stores. Being new, very clean, comfortable. We ALWAYS stay here when we have to be in Richmond. Great stores and restauants just 2-3 blocks away and any other stores you need. NICE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph7va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5400 Audubon Dr, Richmond, VA 23231-2860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $80 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing