We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another solid visit with the Team at Candlewood Suites - Richmond, Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Waverly, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Another solid visit with the Team at Candlewood Suites - Richmond, Airport”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

What can I say, another very solid stay at this location!!! While most of this "TEAM" appear to be fairly new employees they are trained to exceed our (customer) expectations. Always attentive to our needs with immediate response to any requests. This location appears to be a training site for quality people that in a very short window are promoted to other locations. Way to go "James"
you know how to seriously school these folks for growth. I would recommend a stay to everyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    60
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
54
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chose this hotel because of it's ranking here on TripAdviser. On arrival we were greeted buy front desk attendant; who was quite pleasant and welcoming. A really a good place for the money. comfy bed, you feel safe, I love the use of a little kitchen. The staff is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1216322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
1216322, thank you for your review. I love hearing the staff is doing a good job. we will strive to maintain the same high standard so that you will always choose the Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport in the future. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The shuttle service was suspended for some reason but Brian (?) at the front desk arranged for a taxi (paid) to get me to the airport at 5:30 am. He was very accommodating and friendly. He was working VERY hard, having had to manage a power outage for several hours. He was harried but took it in stride.

The room was very comfortable and spacious.

It is not walking distance to anything and there is no "real" food on premises. However, the room I had was well equipped for cooking. Had I known that, I would have gone to the grocery store before being dropped off at the hotel.

The entire hotel did seem a bit "lonely". I think alot of long-term temporary workers stay and they seem more like tenants than travelers. But that was ok, just different.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTheGoodLife63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
TwolnTahoe, I am happy Brain was able to help you with the shuttle/taxi. We here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport take pride in helping the guest have a pleasureable stay in a friendly atmosfer.

Just a note for your next stay with us, about a half mile up the road is the White Oak Shopping Center. It is a great shopping center to find a resturant or get groceries for you room. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILNER
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have spent about 6 weeks across 2 years at this facility. It is really a good place for the money. comfy bed, you feel safe, a nice gym, I love the use of a little kitchen. The staff is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room next to the elevator, you will hear it all night long. Make sure to turn yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shereen_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
shereen_w, Thank you for your review. Many of our guests stay with us many times through out a year. I am so happy you continue to choose this property. We will continue to provide you with the comfy bed and nice gym as well as leave you feeling safe. Your safety as with all of our guests is paramont. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After a booking mistake that I made, we thought that we were going to have to look for another hotel. The manager on duty took care of our "non refundable rate" and offered to put us in a room that evening despite my error with booking the room a month later. It took him quite awhile to accomplish this, as the system wouldn't let him easily fix it. Kudos to him for his attention and effort to fix the problem! He even suggested us staying in a room on the bottom floor to avoid the other available room which was near the noisy elevator closet. I guess the next guests are in for a loud evening but I appreciated that he mentioned it to us and gave us the quieter room.

The room itself looked practically brand new! The bed was a bit stiff, but nowhere near as bad as some beds I've seen at hotels. The bathroom was also new and nicely appointed. The only slight drawback for the room was that the desk/kitchen were pretty cramped which would make for a tough business stay. However, we were just there on a weekend vacation so it was not an issue for us.

Overall we didn't experience a single problem while there. I especially appreciated the "no parties" signage everywhere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshandIssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Joshandlssa, thank you for choosing Candlewood Suite Richmond Airport for you latest stay. It prides me to hear my staff was able to help you with the booking issues you were having. We do have a room that is notoriously loud due to the elevator and we try our very best not to put anyone in it.

We also have a very good maintenance staff who do everything possible to keep the hotel looking and functioning as if it were new. Thank you for noticing. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was clean and large rooms. No Pool. No Breakfast. But everything was nice. Stayed 1 night on our way to SC. Beds are a bit hard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you, Confam, for your review. We do not have a pool however we do have free YMCA passes so that our guest can use their pool. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We flew in the morning of a high school graduation and was trying to check in early so we could freshen up a little bit before the graduation. The staff was very accommodating (despite my multiple phone calls to find out if there was a room ready yet). The room was very clean, the lobby was clean, the bathroom was clean. Bonus is that the rug was clean, I usually pack socks because carpets in hotel give me the heebie-jeebies sometimes, but the rug felt very clean and I didn't feel the need to use them at all. The kitchnette was very nice, although we didn't stay long enough to use it. The room was a good size for the two of us.

I would most definitely stay here again and would be happy to try other Candlewood Suites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport pride ourselves on keeping the public areas as well as each room as clean as possible. I am so glad you noticed. I am also glad you were about to get into your room early. we try to make a standard practice of allowing early check ins on a first come first serve basis as the rooms become available. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Address: 5400 Audubon Dr, Richmond, VA 23231-2860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing