We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Easy to get to.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just stayed one night, but glad I read the reviews here first. I was a little leary as one review mentioned it smelling of cigarette smoke, but did not notice anything like that at all. It was very clean and in fact very pleasant smelling.

Typical Candlewood, full kitchen, recliner, nice size bathroom. Haven't stayed at this chain in a while and the room looked updated. Very nice. My only complaint would be that one side of the bed is extremely close to the wall so it was hard to get in and out of the bed. Also, the pillows could have used some refreshing.

All in all for such a great price we would stay again!

Room Tip: For an inexpensive breakfast on the go, check out WaWa. Nothin' fancy, but if you're in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you ChiSox for your review of our property. I am glad that you did not have any issues with the cigarette smoke, we are still in the process of converting over to a fully non-smoking hotel. It sounds like you have used Candlewood Suites in the past. It is nice to hear that you came back to our brand, even if it was for a night or two. I have also addressed the issue you had with your pillows, and have started changing out the ones that may not be as new as some of the others. Thank you again for your review and your critiques, we always like to hear from our guests and figure out ways to make their stay better. Here at Candlewood Suites, Consider us Home.

-James Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    60
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
54
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Room was very nice and clean. Beds were super comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and updated. The towels are actually pretty soft! Flat screen tv with DVD player and free DVD rental at the front desk. Have washers and dryers available to use for free. Is way nice and would never expect it based on the low cost! Definitely will stay at candlewood again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you, Kdonze, for your review of our property. I am extremely pleased to hear that not only did you love your stay, but it sounds like you tried out most of our ammenities as well. We provide a nice and quiet place for you to stay away from home, but still have all of the comforts of home, and it is in an affordable range. I hope that if you come through the Richmond area again, you will come by and stay with us again. Here at Candlewood Suites, Consider Us Home.

-James Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

After a recent pleasant experience at another Candlewood Suites, I decided to stay here on the return trip. This was every bit as nice as the other one. Clean room, big towels, plenty of hot water, free wi-fi and quiet. Candlewood has been moved to the top of my preferred list, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you Ken H for your recent review of our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you hand such and enjoyable stay at our property. I noticed you mention our free wi-fi, which we proudly offer to each of our guests. We also offer free printing in our lobby, free faxing, free DVD lending library, and free on-site guest laundry! We do not want to nickel and dime our guests. Thank you again for choosing Candlewood Suites - Richmond Airport, and if you find your way back to Richmond, consider us home.

-James Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is your basic hotel but it's nice and clean and the price is right. My only complaint is that you can hear a lot of chatter from people on other rooms and halls. Oh and there is a train track behind the hotel. I was awaken two times in one night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tackaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you Tackaman for your recent review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback we get from a guest's stay. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Talking in the halls and the train going through are both items in which we have no control over, but we try and keep all hallway noise to an absolute minimum. The front desk is very quick to act on a call of noise in the hallways, and will do everything in their power to keep such disturbances from happening. The train goes through once or twice a day, but is rarely heard with the windows closed. Other than these two things, we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate again the feedback from your stay. At Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James Brown, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for one night in June as going to a concert at The National. I was also a little wary due to such a cheap price, but it was a wonderful hotel! We had no complaints whatsoever! We are now going to rebook for the end of August, with our son, for a break in our return home journey from vacation :) It was clean, spacious, nicely furnished, friendly service, NO noises, and no elevator issues :) Thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzibella-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you Izzibella-H for your review of our hotel. I am so very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are just outside of the city of Richmond, which puts us within distance of many different venues, such as The National, RIR raceway, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, and many others. We hope that you did stay with us again at the end of August, and hope to see you again if you decide to visit the Richmond area. At Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James Brown, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

When we book for only a $100 we were a little leery of the quality. What a nice surprise. A huge suite, Internet, great bed and pillows, kitchen, wonderful service, close to good places to eat. Would definitely do again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelleyjgerryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you Shelleyjgerryk for your recent review of your stay here at the Candlewood Suites - Richmond Airport. I am always delighted to see a guest has had a great and memorable stay with us. The hotel is situated just minutes away from over 10 restaurants and over 50 different shopping venues in the White Oak Shopping Center. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. If you find yourself in Richmond again, consider us home.

-James Brown, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here one night. Great convenient location from the airport. Super convenient to the freeway. Not to great in terms of peace and quiet. Anyone speaking in the hallways can be heard loud and clear in your room. Also doors slamming all night long. Biggest complaint, however was the elevator. We were trying to leave with all our luggage and waited about 10 minutes for the elevator to come up to our floor. When it finally arrived, it was filled with a maid and her cart and we could not get in. So the door closed, we pushed the button again, and we waited another 5 minutes (yes, I timed it). Then when the lift arrived, it was filled again with a different maid and a different cart. My husband and I lugged as much of our luggage down the stairs as we could while we left our elderly parents to wait for the elevator again. We waited in the lobby for them for another 10 minutes. They seriously need a service elevator.

Room Tip: I would assume all the rooms have the same noise issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you Mavpav for your recent review of our hotel. First and foremost, let me apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I understand completely what you experienced, and unfortunately there are alot of things that are not in our complete power to be able to prevent. Being an extended stay hotel, we do have many people coming and going at all hours, and some can be louder than others. Normally once a noise complaint has been called to the desk, we do everything in our power to make sure that the issue does not occur again. Did you report your noise issue to the front desk? If not, rest assured that noise in the hallways is a very rare incident. As for our elevator, it was designed to county regulations, but on heavy checkout days it can be very slow, and for that I apologize. If you find yourself in Richmond again, I would very much like for you to contact me via phone or email, and we can make arrangements so that we can show that your last experience was not an accurate one. Thank you again.

-James Brown, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Address: 5400 Audubon Dr, Richmond, VA 23231-2860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing